From My Commonplace Book: Quotes I Love

german“At our house we have damask cloths, crystal, and sterling too, but I can’t remember my mother ever using them. Anyway, I know she’s never cooked a dinner like Grandma. Now [our cook] is a very good cook, too, but it’s not the same. It’s still like eating somebody else’s food, while Grandma’s is like finally coming home.” (p33).

” [On the drive home]...next to me was a whole bag of her freshly made cheese and onion knishes. I breathed in deep. It was as though I had just left home and was now going to where I lived.” (p.38).

The first quote is why I don’t always enjoy eating out. The second is exactly how I felt leaving MY grandmother’s house when we were stuck living in an apartment for two school years. Interesting how books can speak to us and validate our thoughts.

I enjoy reading your comments!

