What I’ve Been Reading: Excellent debut that opens a window

Two weeks in a rental car with no cd-player got in the way of listening. Yes, I could have gone with e-audios, but I always mess them up. I need more practice. My own car is supposed to stream them. Supposed to. I CAN answer my phone this way (I choose not to–too dangerous to me) but nothing else ever streams properly in spite of the car dealership helping with it. So when I saw the rental car problem I made a snap decision to skip audio books for the duration. I did a lot of “mental writing” instead. A nice change.

 

window

Now, to my reviews. First–cancel your book club’s next pick and grab Elizabeth Egan’s A Window Opens. You’ll thank me. She gets it. This is who we are today if we are on the “works outside the home” side of the insane and unnecessary Mommy war. Here, at last, is the story of a marriage that works–not perfect, but no one is bonking the babysitter or getting flashbacks from a traumatic childhood [NO I am NOT belittling anyone]. Alice Pearse gets the opportunity of a lifetime. Cue the Rolling Stones–take your pick, Satisfaction or You Can’t Always Get…. Her husband, Nicholas has just quit his job at the sort of law firm beautifully captured in another debut I’m still raving over, BigLaw, a world I know all too well. She nailed that too.

The children, Margot, Oliver and Georgie are normal kids–no too precious for words soliloquies, no one wise beyond their years, just REAL. That’s huge in any type book. They do have the world’s perfect babysitter, but hey! some people really do luck-out in that game. Supportive friends? Sure, but they wax and wane as real friendships do.

Real. Are you getting it? This book is just plain real. Go RIGHT NOW and put this one on your Kindle. Or, if you are blessed with a Blue Owl type Indie bookshop, go there, sip a latte and buy it in carbon-based output. Ha! Did I mention the dream job puts the CULT (well in lingo anyway) into “Corporate Cult-ure”? (Does the phrase “Going forward…” make anyone else want to play that Urban Bomber video game?) You’ll also want to see Dave Egger’s The Circle–similar vibe and another great read.

A Window Opens by Elizabeth Egan–read it in thanks for your own great husband, your own great kids and your own joy in finding a voice. One teeny, tiny odd thing that will stay with me for life–just what does the “drumstick succulence” of a toddler’s leg mean……? Memorable. Never mind. Just read the book!!

Other Books:

This month I also enjoyed, and reviewed, these great reads. Remember, when you click on a book link, I do not get paid. The links are simply a convenience for you.

 

dumplin

 

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy–another wonderful debut. My review and a little more.

 

 

LovingE

 

Loving Eleanor by Susan Wittig Albert. My review.

 

 

 

DearCary

 

Dear Cary: My Life With Cary Grant by Dyan Cannon–my review is here.

I enjoy reading your comments!

