Not Your Usual Women’s History Books: Fiction

Women’s history can also be re-told thru fiction. Personally I love historical fiction. Today I’m looking at women’s history in a topical way. Each of these books has moved me or motivated me or comforted me in some way–maybe even with laughter.

Remember, links are provided on this blog for your convenience. I do not make any money off your clicks.

Motherhood

starmrsb

A Star for Mrs. Blake is the moving story of a woman on a little-known government-sponsored tour for mothers to the graves of their sons buried overseas in World War I. As a single Mom, I really related to this story, but I also grieved for the so-called “Colored’ mother, too, whose trip was so different, yet her inclusion, for all its demeaning aspects, was true progress for that time. How she must have hurt seeing the stark differences in treatment. But Mrs. Blake is the focus and you won’t soon forget her. A Star for Mrs. Blake by April Smith.

 

 Women Supporting Each Other–Modern History

Wedsis

Oh how many times have I wished for “Sisters” like this? A dream writing group, dream friends! But believable dream friends.  Enough said. The Wednesday Sisters by Meg Waite Clayton. There is a sequel, too, Wednesday Daughters, if you are interested.

 

 

 

 

519tcjqE6DL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Another group of dream friends, but like the Wednesday Sisters, a group of believable dream friends. Who wouldn’t want friends like this in the neighborhood. Wildwater Walking Club, by Claire Cook, because we women need to support each other.

 

 

 

 

Yada

Another great group of supportive friends are the Yada Yada Prayer Group . (Kindle series bundle link).I devoured this fun series about faithful friends using their Christian faith to support each other in Chicago’s Rogers Park neighborhood. It was the neighborhood that drew me to the series–my Dad spent his summers there growing up, his cousin lived there till she died and my parents started post-college married life there. These ladies are the real deal–true friends, true prayer worriers without regard for race, ethnicity or socio-economic distinctions.  A super read for any group of women, but especially attractive to Christian women. The Yada Yada Prayer Group (Book One link) by Neta Jackson. And, as of today (3/20/2016) this one is available for Kindle for only a 99 cents.

Passing Down Wisdom

ladies of the club

 

This is a HUGE book–think Gone With The Wind or War and Peace huge, but worth every single minute spent reading it. It’s an all-time favorite of mine so I write about it a lot. You can find it at the library or super-cheap used. I think it may, technically, be out-of-print now, but Amazon and others always have used copies. The story of the women of two main families and other minor families in a small town in Ohio from the end of the Civil War to the 1930s is unforgettable. Oh read it! Just read it!  “…And Ladies of the Club” by Helen Hooven Santmyer.

 

Women Under Adversity

Sparrow

 

King Philip’s War isn’t taught much any more–it’s pre-American Revolution and that rarely gets any play these days. Mary Rowlandson’s story of her captivity by the “Indians” (Native Americans) during this time was a sensation in it’s time. This fine novel brings her story to life with all the emotion it deserves. Flight of the Sparrow by Amy Belding Brown.

 

 

preacher

 

I’m not a fan of Christian literature, but I make an exception for Jody Hedlund –forthcoming book link (and Lynn Austin —forthcoming). Jody’s book, the Preacher’s Bride (why such a silly title? I assume it was the publisher’s choice), tells the story of Elizabeth–eventually the second wife of John Bunyan, author of Pilgrim’s Progress one of the cornerstones of Western literature. Ignore the silly romance-book packaging (again, I assume that was the publisher’s call) this is a riveting tale of a time of great upheaval and great danger. Elizabeth is a heroine for all times. The Preacher’s Bride by Jody Hedlund.  (Currently $2.99 for kindle)

 

Women of a Certain Age

NoIdon't

 

There’s nothing like being patted on the hand, fobbed off, ignored, or simply being treated as though invisible to bring out the feisty in a women, is there? Bill as a sort of Bridget Jones Diary for the AARP set, this funny fictional diary, is laugh-out-loud funny. With 60 well within my sights I found way too much to nod and say “Amen” to as well. No! I Don’t Want to Join a Book Club: Diary of a 60th Year by Virginia Ironside.

 

 

I could drag this post out for miles with more great books! Leave a comment with your favorite books in these categories. I’d love to hear what you like.

4 thoughts on “Not Your Usual Women’s History Books: Fiction

  1. Yes I agree about the Preacher’s Bride! was very good. Yada Yada surprised me. I was prepared to dislike it but adored it! Their 1st spin off series was good but the neighborhood series is pretty bad ;0 Makes me sad because I loved Yada Yada so much.

    Added a few of these to my wish list 🙂

    Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

