The Royal Family in Fiction

I’m currently looking for an agent for my royal fiction, but while I wait I thought I’d share a few of my favorite royal novels. Some are humorous, a few serious. All are worth while. With Queen Elizabeth’s 90th birthday only about two weeks away, I’m ramping up my royal posts for a while.

41amIIBeTHL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Queen Elizabeth discovers the bookmobile parked outside the palace and has a look around.  She begins to read a wide variety of topics and finds her life a bit confining afterward. This one struck such a cord with me because Princess Margaret, the Queen’s late sister, often complained that she’d been given no education. The Queen was given only slightly more–in constitutional history by a master at Eton. The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett.

 

 

41HiZ6hLlDL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Who wasn’t excited when Prince William finally married his Catherine? Ok, so in this version the lucky girl is an American, but otherwise…. Just read it. It’s fun. There’s even a cheeky younger brother! Now there’s a reason to love it. #LuvYaOurHarry  The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan.

 

 

 

Izzy

 

This is such a fun little send-up of a better educated, but still trapped, Di-like princess that I laughed all thru it. Add the Boss’s lyrics and, well… just enjoy. I had no idea when I read it that I was (then) living across the river from the author, which makes the book even better in memory. While conspiracy theorists still try to determine the so-called “real fate” of icons like Jackie O or Di or Elvis, I think this fun version of one press pack-mobbed princess’s “after” life is about as believable as any other theory–just way more fun! Princess Izzy and the E Street Shuffle by Beverly Barlett.

 

 

All this month I’ll be posting on the royals more often as well countdown to the big 9-0. Now, wrap your arms around this: At about-to-be-90 and soon-to-be-95, the Queen and Prince Philip are still working almost full-time. And we complain about retiring now at 70?

 

 

 

 

 

I enjoy reading your comments!

