What I’ve been reading

Time for few little book reviews.

First the meh….

Emmanew

While I dearly love checking in with the denizens of 44 Scotland Street and with the ladies of the Number One Ladies Detective agency, I must say that re-writing Jane Austen is perhaps not the best use of Alexander McCall Smith’s time. In fact, I’d go so far as to echo the sentiments of this article on the Austen Fiasco? This is the second on the series that I’ve read and my second verdict of “Meh.” Mind you, this did serve my purpose of filling the long hours of my commute just fine, but it wasn’t one I sat in the parking lot at work or the driveway at home unwilling to turn it off. It was fun, just not fun enough. Then it appeared he realized he’d hit his contractual page limit and just wound it up. Duty done. Back to his real writing. Skip this series and just read the originals. Emma: A Modern Retelling by Alexander McCall Smith.

Then the YES!!!!

onlytimewilltell

Don’t you love it when you discover a great series and they’ve mostly all been published? What can be better than binge-reading an edge-of-your-seat series? This one will get you all the way thru pool season if you start now. I’m not even sure how to talk about it without spoilers. Harry Clifton, a baddy named Hugo, a great man living undercover, a birthright, a mother desperate for her boy to have a better life. Oh my my my my my….how did I not read Jeffrey Archer before now??? Too much to love here, but even better it’s set in 1920s and 1930s Bristol, so it’s excellent Downton Abbey-withdrawl fodder. Only Time Will Tell by Jeffrey Archer.

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I’ve been reading

  1. Two interesting snippet reviews – I like it! I’ve never really understood the rewrite craze, but I know lots of people enjoy revisiting their favorite classics in a new way. This second series sounds good – I don’t have a pool to sit by, but I can squeeze in a read anytime!

    Like

    1. For what it’s worth, I don’t have the pool either! Just 80 miles each way to listen to audio books. This series had great potential but it was squandered in my opinion. I won’t even read the werewolves/zombies one–too stupid. There’s another new one out of P/P by Curtis Sittenfeld, but I think I’ll pass.

      Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

