Sweetgum Knit Lit Society: Welcome to a book club you’d look forward to attending

sweetgum

I admit it. I avoid book clubs like the plague. I have another secret. I hated literature class in high school, well except with Mrs. Dunn. Why? Because I love to read, that’s why! And, contrary to common belief, loving to read is not why I became a librarian. Loving to do research is why I became a librarian. Book clubs are just too much like literature class–assigned reading, discussion questions that either pull on the obvious or wobble off into the far-fetched realms of stuff like the brown water showed the dirt in her soul…yeah….

I requested this book on audio thinking it would be a nice, mindless story to wile away the drive on a path I’d had to take too many times before. It wouldn’t matter if I daydreamed or zoned out here or there. In short, I took this for a fluff piece.

Beth Pattillo, you knocked my socks off! This was much more than a group of gals of a certain age baking zucchini bread and getting together to discuss Eudora Welty or 50 Shades of Gray. (Yes, book clubs go there…. No, I don’t think it would be pretty.) Instead, I got a group of women from teenage up who looked around at their world and made a difference. Oh, not willingly! Nope! There’s a story here! It took leadership. And the leader was the librarian. (Mind you, hearing that she was a rule-loving spinster in a skirt and blouse and sensible shoes made me want to scream, but I stuck with it.)

The characters all felt like women I know and many have the sort of secrets that make life more interesting. I loved to that someone who wasn’t expecting it go romance and no, it isn’t the teen or the twenty-something. You’ll have to read it to find out!

I’m pleased to say that there is a sequel and I loved the first book so much, I’m buying the sequel. My book budget is limited, so I support authors by learning of their work from the library and, when I love there stories, I then buy them. Yes, buy them new. I do buy used books, but those are almost all for one special collection of mine and those are out-of-print.

The Sweetgum Knit Lit Society, by Beth Pattillo.

 

I enjoy reading your comments!

