From My Commonplace Book: Quotes I Love

The Book:

husbands

I just finished listening to this book–so compelling, so well-paced, so well written. Such fabulous writing that I pulled over to scribble down a few quotes. Definitely a book for the book clubs, but for once it will be one that actually gets read. I love audio books that make me sorry I’ve reached my destination. This one found me sitting in the driveway at home or the parking lot at work listening to just another minute!  Silly me! When I heard “psychological thriller,” I thought “torture, rape” and no thanks.  Happily that is not the story here. Stuff happens, but not that sort of bad. I can’t wait to read or listen to more of Liane Moriarty’s books.

 

The Quotes I Loved:

This one evoke such a feeling of dread in me–I constantly fret over this happening to me. It will, of course. It’s happened to my Mom a bit and certainly happened to her mother. Dread. Like getting my Great-Grandmother’s ham-like upper arms. Like men dread getting old guy neck and having to live in a shirt and tie to look younger–that sort of dread.

“…the drawstring of wrinkles around [her] mouth….”

 

And, this, one of the best descriptions of marriage ever written–one anyone who has spent even a day in marriage can relate to, can nod their head and Amen to.

“…marriage was a form of insanity, love hovering permanently on the edge of aggravation…”

 

 

6 thoughts on “From My Commonplace Book: Quotes I Love

  1. Julie Hage

    This one has been sitting on my shelf for months, maybe years. I think I was a little afraid of it. But now I’ve decided to read it as soon as I’m finished with my current book. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Reading What I Have Challenge - May 2016 - Filling the Jars

I enjoy reading your comments!

