Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite First Sentences

118368

First lines from two all-time favorite books

Joy

 

 

“Well, we never thought it could happen, but here we are living with Gran in East Haddock (Mass.).

The Joyous Season by Patrick Dennis. This book is an annual re-read for me at Christmas time. I’ve posted on it before in my occasional series on Fictional Characters I Wish Were Real #1.

 

 

GWTW

 

“Scarlett O’Hara was not beautiful, but men seldom realized that when caught by her charms as the Tarleton twins were. In here face were too sharply blended the features of her mother, a Coast aristocrat of French descent and the heavy ones of her florid Irish father….”

Ok, that’s the first TWO, but from memory.  Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell.

 

 

The Opening Lines of Two Books I’m Currently Reading

 

518F07FbkLL

 

 

“In early January of 2011, forty-five  hundred red-winged black-birds fell dead from the Arkansas skies.”

The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

 

 

 

scarletp

 

“A surging, seething, murmuring crowd of beings that are human only in name, for to the eye and ear they seem naught but savage creatures, animated by vile passions and by the lust of vengeance and hate.”

The Scarlet Pimpernel by Emmuska Orczy

 

 

 

 

Opening Line of the Last Book I Finished

kitchens

 

“Lars Thorvald loved two women.” 

Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal

 

 

 

 

 

Do you enjoy fun lists like this? Then join the Goodreads.com group Top 5 Wednesday and be part of the weekly meet-up.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite First Sentences

  1. I definitely love the first lines! I was at a job interview once (for a finance job, nothing to do with books) and the guy interviewing me asked what the first line to Moby Dick was. I told him “Call me Ishmael” and I was right but I didn’t get the job. Didn’t bother me – he was a bit of a jerk, but I am glad he didn’t ask me how many basketballs would fit in the room because my math skills were not as good!

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

