Top 10 Bad Guys and Gals!

toptentuesday

These are in no particular order. I’m not big on books in which the words “horrible” or “gruesome” are prominent in the blurb, so this took a little doing for me. I read so few that I’m having to re-use some from another recent post. I’ve left out obvious, real-life villains like Hitler, Pol Pot, Stalin etc.

monk

The baddies in the William Monk series by Anne Perry. Love Monk!! Hate the bad guys! I’ve read 15 or so of them and all the bad guys are truly worthy of life on the river bottom.

51iquunp-el

Voldemort and other trouble-makers in the Harry Potter books. Though I admit Malfoy’s father is charming–the one you hate to love. And Snape who is and isn’t bad but is but can be….

fathermothergod

Father in Fathermothergod: My Journey Out of Christian Science by Lucia Greenhouse. Only a sadist stands by and lets his wife die like that and calls it “faith.” This one is non-fiction.

51xj6lceatl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Sadie in At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier. I wanted to drown her in the creek and be done with her.  A miserable human being.

outlander

Jonathan Randall–just blech! [Blech on much of the book–way, way, way too much graphic sex for me]. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

rebecca

Mrs. Danvers in Rebecca–throw her from the cliff why don’t you, Maxim!

51e-kmpqxkl-_sx373_bo1204203200_

Police officer Ronald Merrick–sadistic, racist British prig of the first order. His kind did the Empire in. The Raj Quartet by Paul Scott (aka The Jewel in the Crown and the other three books).

51xp9uzdmpl-_sx320_bo1204203200_

The evil dwarf, Quilip, who preys upon sweet little Nell in Charles Dickens’ Old Curiostiy Shop. Makes my skin crawl just thinking of him.

kevin

Kevin in Lionel Shriver’s We Need To Talk About Kevin. How this kid missed therapy is beyond me.

51sdsuu1exl-_ac_us250_

The devil, aka Screwtape, the mentor-uncle of Wormwood in C.S. Lewis’ classic The Screwtape Letters. He knows us well!

Who is your favorite fictional bad guy? Leave me a comment or a link to your own Top Ten Tuesday post.

You can take part in Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish! Here’s a link to all of this week’s great Villains!

Lucius-Malfoy-promo-lucius-and-narcissa-malfoy-22385700-900-1201.jpg

Source

14 thoughts on “Top 10 Bad Guys and Gals!

  1. sjbraun

    Interesting! Of these, I’ve just read Rebecca and the Orchard one — and I agree with your thoughts there. This is a perfect Halloween-but-not-too-creepy post topic!

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

