Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Top 10

toptentuesday

Like any 60’s kid, I liked trick-or-treating. Chocolate. It was all about the chocolate! This week the Broke and the Bookish selected a “Halloween related freebie: ten scary books, favorite horror novels, non-scary books to get you in the Halloween/fall mood, bookish Halloween costumes, scariest covers), scary books on my TBR, etc” for this week’s topic.

1. Favorite Halloween Decoration

14670753_10157930996095643_628853966945232893_n

This is our old haunted house!  It has well-loved, hard-played-with soft Frankenstein, Dracula, Mummy, Black Car, Goblin, a witch, a huge spider and a bat! Both the green goblin and the mummy have done time as cat hunting trophies and have the teeth marks still to prove it. I think this came from Chinaberry in 2003. The nice thing–beyond the hours of happy play my kids enjoyed with it–is that all the inhabitants of the house are stored in the house. Very nice feature. I’m keeping it for my future grandchildren.

2. Favorite Halloween TV Show–as if there’s really more than this one!

91pvlwdhmfl-_sy445_

I am a charter-member of the generation this, and the Charlie Brown Christmas, were created to entertain. Happily we have this on DVD, so though my children are adults I can still enjoy it once a year.  It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.

3. Favorite Halloween Story

orphananniepoem

Legendary Hoosier Poet (I spent most of my life in Indiana) James Whitcomb Riley, wrote the poem Little Orphant [spelling is Riley’s] Annie. While today it does suffer from old age in some regrettably un-politically correct ways, I still treasure the memory of it being read at school nearly every Halloween season. That was back when you could be a witch or a mummy for Halloween and no on cared. Yes, that long ago.  Here’s a link to the real poem and here’s a link to a friend of mine who portrays James Whitcomb Riley.

4. Favorite Halloween Candy

DSC_0679.JPG

5. Least Favorite Halloween Candy

2255448.jpg

Yep, the dreaded Dollar Store Peanut Butter in Waxed Paper “Candy.” Here’s a funny blog post, Still the Worst Halloween Candy Ever by the Rambling Reverend. I’ve NEVER, ever–not as a kid, not as a parent, not as a Trunk or Treat Candy Giver have I ever seen a kid make any but the “Oh, gross…” face on getting these. I’m pretty sure Starving Children in Where-Ever would make that gross face even. Maybe it’s the after taste of the waxed paper. Or maybe its that they were manufactered in 1957 in such quantities that they’ve never had to rev up the ole’ p.b. extruder and make more–that aging in a warehouse flavor, perhaps? Yuck. Just yuck. I love REAL peanut butter. But this stuff? Use if for potholes in the street.

6. My Favorite Childhood Memory of Halloween # 1

tumblr_nwxptnkTYn1sqf5tdo7_1280.jpg

Source

Since I’m a 60s kid, photos are pretty rare. Most likely anyone in your family who was alive then still have a basket like my Mom’s, stashed in the back of a closet, of film to be developed when the budget allows. Yeah. Those would be MY childhood. So, no picture. But it was a simpler time. You bought a mask and that was about it. Then around 2 or 3rd grade people began going “overboard” and buying those tacky one piece costumes with a mask. My favorite wasn’t the darling kitty costume my Mom made me (though as an adult I love it) but the time I got to wear my big brother’s outgrown red blazer and be a “Buckingham Palace Guard.” No Disney princess crap back then. We saw a Disney movie ONCE per movie in those days. But, at least I didn’t have to go as a witch, bride or old lady like the other girls.

7. My Favorite Childhood Memory of Halloween #2

popcorn_balls_l

My parents made popcorn balls for us. They gave out candy, of course, but we got to have homemade popcorn balls too. Usually we had chili for dinner. I never did like other people’s popcorn balls–I think simply because like the dressing (aka “stuffing”) at Thanksgiving, the popcorn balls were something my Dad helped make. That made them special. He was a typical 60s Dad who played catch with a football or baseball and watched tv with us. He didn’t cook! Here’s a recipe if you want to try some.

8. Spookiest Music


Night On Bald Mountain–it was still spooky when my high school band played it in the 1970s!

 

9. Favorite Spooky Book

dracula.jpg

Bram Stoker’s Dracula. Possibly the only spooky book I’ve ever finished.

 

10. Spookiest Place I’ve Ever Visited

wtbhpoegrave1.jpg

 

In the early ’90s co-workers and I visited Edgar Allan Poe’s grave late at night. At that time, the neighborhood was, shall we say “none too savory” so there was that type scary added, too. Happily nothing “untoward” happened. A co-worker rattled off much of the raven and we went back to the hotel. No photo of my own, because it was the early 90s. Point and shoot 35 mm’s were very hot, but no one had one with them on the trip. I don’t think disposables were a thing yet, either.

 

Bonus–Favorite Black Cat:

14716049_10157931232735643_5382159414277556729_n

My writing buddy–Candy. And before you think I made that up for this post (I didn’t–I tell the truth here!), her name is “Candy Cane” and yes, she was named by a child! She prefers just plain “Candy.” And, she and her kitty housemates get tuna for trick-or-treat.

 

Leave me a comment with Halloween memories or a link to your Top 10 Tuesday List! You can join in and post your list by checking out the rules at The Broke and the Bookish!

 

Need some fast Halloween, Harvest or Thanksgiving Help?

Check out my Pinterest board!

 

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Top 10

  1. sjbraun

    I love everything about this post! Love that you visited Poe’s grave — LOVE that Halloween house you have — I too love CBHalloween, etc. I have memories too of those types of masks and yes, it was a simpler time. Nowdays, many of my piano kids either don’t “do Halloween” at all, or else go overboard with the creepy vampire etc. stuff. You kitty is so cute 🙂 And yeah, ugh with the gross pb candy. I remember one year thinking I would eat a piece slowly and really try to like it. Didn’t happen! (liking it, that is!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Halloween memories are always fun to recall. My most vivid ones are wearing the plastic masks and being forced to wear a coat over my costume! More recent good times were the elementary school Halloween parades which my older kids got to enjoy, but they have now been banned by our school district. Still love seeing the little ones come to our door!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It amazes me that fun stuff always gets banned. First it was no scary costumes, then no sexy costumes now no anything. Sad. I never liked having to wear a coat (and a stupid knit hat!!!) with my mask over the hat or coat hood. Ridiculous, but that was Mom. lol I let my kids have fun and be cold–neither got sick.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. As a severely-allergic child in the days before product labelling, Halloween was definitely more about the experience than the candy for me, since my lucky dad got to eat most of my candy! I laugh to think about it now – we just wandered around the neighborhood in the dark by ourselves without any grownups, it’s amazing we all survived our childhood! Those were different times. 😉

    Like

    1. So Teal Pumpkin is a good thing for you! I think we are overly obsessed with safety today. But each place is different. My 20-somethings knew only “safe” Halloween options like Trunk or Treat and still had fun, but could never be anything scary due to all the rules. Heck when I was a kid in the 60s most girls were scary witches!!

      Like

  4. Hi Hopewell! I’m not from the 60s but I still remember masks similar to those!! And POPCORN BALLS! YES… such a treat for us… we begged for those but they must have been a holiday like treat for my parents because they would only make them around Halloween too… You always do such a great twist on the topic (though I guess since they is a freebie it’s not technically a twist this time…?)

    I love top 10 Tuesday… Here is my post if you’re interested in my choices ❤ https://wp.me/p3LRfZ-6Vt

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

