The 12 Books of Christmas: My True Love Gave to Me: 12 Holiday Stories by YA Authors

truelove

Instead of the Twelve DAYS of Christmas, this year I’m having the twelve BOOKS of Christmas! And, let’s do it backwards, ok? Today’s book is a collection of TWELVE great holiday short stories by great YA authors. If your idea of YA is Twilight and other things vampire, let this fun collection of stories introduce you to REAL YA literature!

Gayle Forman, whose If I Stay and Where She Went are two of the best YA books out there, is how I won a copy of this book in exchange for a fair review. Her story, What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? predictably, was wonderful.

I’ve been meaning to read anything by Rainbow Rowell since seeing fans of all ages wait patiently in a line about three city blocks long or her autograph at a book fair last year. Her story, too, was fabulous.I truly get now why she’s so immensely popular.

For me, the happy new discovery was author Matt De La Pena, author of the award winning children’s book, Last Stop on Market Street. I did not know he wrote YA as well as children’s books.  His story, Angels in the Snow, is a poor boy, rich girl meet-up over cat sitting. What’s not to love, right? I devoured the story

While some stories are grittier than others, all are a worthy contribution to YA literature and to the holiday fun reads canon. If you’ve dismissed YA–rethink it and read this compelling collection of stories. It would also make a superb Christmas gift for a teen or anyone who loves YA literature–or any good read.

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins.

2 thoughts on “The 12 Books of Christmas: My True Love Gave to Me: 12 Holiday Stories by YA Authors

I enjoy reading your comments!

