Top 5 Wednesdays: Books I Want to Finally Read in 2017

118368

 

This year I’m tackling Frankenstein with the goal to be done by New Year’s Eve. Happily I’m on course to meet my deadline and, even better, I’m fascinated by the story. Well, so long as I read it in small doses. It’s not a book to rush–even though it is a rush-able length. In 2017 I will try again to read at least one of the books I bought almost two years ago for this post.

One

eastofeden.jpg

The most likely pick is East of Eden by John Steinbeck since I have a friend encouraging me to read it.

Two

mdeb

 

I started, then put down, Madame Bovary. Not from any lack of interest–I just let myself get distracted by other books. I should pick it back up and finish it. It, too, is a compelling story.

Three

lesmis

Thanks to Serial Reader, a great app for reading classics in small bites, I’m nom-nom-nomming my way with great relish thru Les Miserables. You can read more about my reading on this excellent app here. If I stay with it (and I honestly think I will this time) I will definitely finish Les Mis in ’17. If it is available, I may finally tackle War and Peace this way in 2018.

Four

lostH.jpg

I’ve been meaning to read Lost Horizon since 7th Grade. That, my children, was during the FORD Administration!

Five

 

51d4g0sfmzl

 

This is the long-shot of the list. I’m just not interested much in fantasy or fantasy-like made up worlds. Every guy in my family loves these books. I’ve thrown back the Hobbit in hardback, trade paper, 70’s paper and audio. I fell asleep during the one version of the Lord of the Rings movies that I was forced to attend one Christmas. But Tolkien has so much to recommend him (yes, even though I fell asleep).  We’ll see. The Lord of the Rings.

 

You can be part of Top 5 Wednesday by joining the group at Goodreads.com

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Books I Want to Finally Read in 2017

  1. sjbraun

    Ha ha, I feel similar about LOTR. So many people love it — but I’m just not into that genre. But then again, Tolkien. We’ll see. I would love to read Les Mis and will be interested in what you think; ditto W&P (I loved the TV movie of it earlier this year). I read Madame Bovary this year after one daughter loved it in school; I’m reading Frankenstein after another daughter’s school-induced praise. Enjoyed/enjoying them both!

    Like

  2. Serial Reader [I’m not paid to say this!] is a GREAT help for a big book. You get a 15 minute reading chunk a day. You can turn it off so you can access all if you feel like it, too. If you do the cheap upgrade (I did) you can highlight and take notes. I LOVE it. I’m effortlessly reading it–not every day, but most days. Some days I ‘catch-up’ a bit, too.
    Frank is very interesting–I’ll be interested to read your take on it.

    Like

  3. I’ve been meaning to read East of Eden for a long time! I’ve read Madame Bovary and Lord of the Rings, but none of the others. I’ll look out for when you read East of Eden and I’ll try to get to it soon!

    Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

