Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Angsty Romances

Top5Wed

Angsty Romances you ask? A bit of brooding? Yes, those with a bit of attitude or a bit of angst. We all know the big one, right? Heathcliff!

Emily Bronte about invented this genre! Heathcliff and Cathy. Say no more. Angsty, brooding, violent, horrible weather–you name it, its got it. Wuthering Heights It’s available in a zillion editions, but I love the new annotated one on the right.

Poe is a romantic to me–love lost to death is tragic. There is angst. There is brooding. These are poems so you get two for one. The Raven and Annabel Lee.

Another two-for because they are first and second parts of the same story. I found a lot of angst here and a lot of typical teenage/young adult uncertainty. I loved these books, too, which surprised me since I’m 55. If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman.

Another classic, but honestly can you think of anything more angst-inducing than vampires? Once again a fine new annotated edition and a zillion others. Dracula (Annotated).

Only four this week–I don’t read a lot of upsetting things. 50 Shades is not my thing. Dystopian and Vampires aren’t either.

Top 5 Wednesday is a group you can join on Goodreads.com. Then you can post your list or do a video on youtube!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Angsty Romances

  1. sjbraun

    I guess I’d call Jane Eyre an angsty romance too, although definitely not on WH level. I seem to have heard a lot about If I Stay — maybe I’ll give that one a try. You come up with good groupings for book posts!

    Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

