Review: Paris For One by JoJo Moyes

51QngjnEijL._SY346_

 

When I learned that Jojo Moyes had  new book out I was excited. Then I saw the dreaded words “...and Other Stories.” I’m not much for short stories. So, I put it into the car cd-player thinking I’d give it five minutes  and ended up sitting in the driveway listening longer than my drive!

 

The Good

Paris for One was super! This is actually a novella. The characters were wonderful, the story believable. I loved it. I hope there will be a follow-up–a sequel a few years after the story.

Crocodile Shoes–I laughed hard and had to share it with my daughter, who did her first “real job” presentations this week. Read the story and you’ll understand.

Holdups–A sweet, funny, scary holdup? Of course!

Last Year’s Coat–Married love at it’s best. And I can’t stop thinking about a coat my Mom “endured” so we could have what we wanted.

Thirteen Days With John C--Like in the old days when someone would meanly tell a wrong number caller that “he just left with his wife…” and let the person agonize.

The Christmas List–I adored this. It, too, should have been a full novel or novella. And there’s a tiny connection in the story you may just wonder about that makes it all even more intriguing. Listen carefully–a throw away line by the cabbie about his …..[no spoilers].

The Bad

A Bird in the Hand–Should have stayed on the hard drive or in the drawer.

 

Rating

3.75 Stars

Sadly, she’ll always be judged by  Me Before You

I’ve loved every book of hers I’ve read so far.

5 thoughts on “Review: Paris For One by JoJo Moyes

  1. sjbraun

    hmmm … these do sound good. The author is familiar although I don’t think I’ve read anything by her. Did Me Before You come out about a year ago as a movie? I’m thinking my daughter and a friend saw it and thought it was horribly depressing! (I may have the wrong movie here)

    Like

  2. Hi Lisa, I’ve heard of this one and since I’m a big fan of short stories, I bet I’d enjoy Paris for One. I loved Me Before You, although I didn’t enjoy After You as much. You are right, Moyes will always be judged by Me Before You. Did Paris for One come after those?

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

