Review: After the War is Over by Jennifer Robson

51PQsqt3+VL

The Story:

Former volunteer nurse, Charlotte Brown, returns to her pre-war position as an assistant to a lady politician in Liverpool. As she begins to settle in she finds herself beset with unexpected choices…. But are there really choices?

 

What I Liked:

I’m a sucker for anything  set in the Edwardian Era or World War I ir the Between the Wars period. Charlotte was a believable character. The story was pleasant and kept me more than interested. I looked forward to listening to more each day. My long car trip took no time when I was listening to this book on the way back. (Wish I’d started it on the way there!). And then there’s the ending….THE. ENDING. Love, love, loved it!

 

What I Didn’t Like:

I’m honestly not convinced an aristocratic family would have hired a rare female Oxford grad for a governess, even in the circumstances of this book. “Bluestocking” was never a compliment and no aristocrat wanted to be saddled with an unmarried daughter, too smart or too educated for her own good. But, it is possible. My doubts kicked in though.

 

Minor squabble over something that no one else cares about….

The author, or her editor, badly needs to consult Debrett’s. No Earl’s heir is called Lord Edward Somebody. An Earl, or other peer, might refer to himself as Edward Somebody, using his title as his last name (surname). Hence the the Earl of Ulster might call himself Alex Ulster.  But Lord Edward could only be the younger son of a Duke or a Marquess–Lord Nicholas Windsor, for example, is the younger son of the Duke of Kent. An Earl’s eldest son and heir uses a courtesy title–usually Viscount SomebodyElse. Before their father died, Diana’s brother was known as Viscount Althorp  (aka Lord Althorp or Charles Althorp). An Earl’s younger son is not “Lord.” He is the Honorable (Hon) Whoever Surmane, while his sisters are all Lady Whoever Surname [go figure]. So Diana’s younger nephew is The Hon. Edmund Spencer. I’ve picked well know examples to illustrate this, but there are countless more. Minor problem. I doubt anyone in the U.K. today even knows these things.  But I thought Season One of  Downton Abbey was pretty clear on this (joke).

 

After the War is Over by Jennifer Robson

 

Rating

3.75 of 5 Stars

I didn’t realize when I started it, that this was book two of a series. I plan to go back and read or listen to it as well. I look forward to the rest of this series.

 

 

515fWV2xcAL

Book One: Somewhere in France: A Novel of the Great War by Jennifer Robson.

 

To reinforce our lesson on titles….the incomparable Noel Coward sings about the sons of the Aristocracy……

 

One thought on “Review: After the War is Over by Jennifer Robson

I enjoy reading your comments!

