Favorite School Novels: The Next Four

 

A few of the kiddos in my extended family are already back in school this week. I have hopes of one or both of my own returning to college, but we’ll see. Previously I published another post listing four favorite school novels here. And, for a Top Ten Tuesday post, I published this list of 10 more school books and movies  here. So, if any of your favorites, or ones you expected me to list, are not in today’s post, have a look at the past posts by clicking on their links above.

 

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark

 

the-prime-of-miss-jean-brod

Harry Potter fans will love knowing that Professor McGonagall herself (aka Maggie Smith) played the title role of Miss Brodie in the 1969 film. I loved that version, but love the book even more. Poor Miss Brodie. So much to admire in El Duce indeed! The girls of Edinburgh’s posh Marcia Blaine School had no idea what they would learn, but it was a memorable experience to be educated by Miss Brodie.  The Prime Of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark. [Note, I have chosen an older cover. If you click on the link her to see the book on Amazon it will have a different cover. I make no money off your clicks.]

Here’s a peak at Maggie in the title role:

 

 

 

 

Village School by Miss Read

 

51y9es6CZXL._SY346_

 

How wonderful to go to a small school with a caring teacher and have no standardized tests looming! Back when the posh children where going off to schools in Britain like The Marcia Blaine School for Girls, children in country villages went to schools supposedly like the one in Fairacre with teachers like Miss Read. (I suspect the reality was a bit different, but never mind). A delightful story of a time now long gone. Village School by Miss Read.

 

 

 

A Separate Peace by John Knowles

 

9780606341608_p0_v1_s260x420

One of the classics of the school novel genre has to be A Separate Peace . Set in an Eastern prep school at the start of World War II the story focuses on the coming-of-age of two boys,  Phineas and Gene. Even 40 years or so on from reading it, I easily recalled their names, the setting and so much of the story. But mostly I remember the emotions it presented. To say the book had a lasting effect on me would be an understatement. It’s one of the few novels that I ever thought I’d want to teach if forced to teach high school.   A Separate Peace by John Knowles.

 

[Note, I have chosen an older cover. If you click on the link her to see the book on Amazon it will have a different cover. I make no money off your clicks.]

 

 

The Dark Ferret Society by Emily Humphreys

 

ferret

When I read this book a year or so ago, I said “this is high school for the rest of us.” This is not the story of jocks and cheerleaders or preppies and goths, but of the ones who are able to be themselves, obey most rules, respect their parents enough and have a plan for their lives that doesn’t necessarily include how much money they will make. The 20-something author of the book has told a tale from the heart. Happily, there is a sequel that I’m hoping to get to by the end of the year. The Dark Ferret Society by Emily Humphreys. You read my full review here.  Visit the author’s web site here.

 

 

Do you enjoy school novels or movies? Leave me a comment with your favorites.

2 thoughts on “Favorite School Novels: The Next Four

  1. sjbraun

    All of these sound good — probably not a surprise, since I’m a teacher. I’m drawn to teacher scenes in my favorite show, “The MIddle,” in the Anne of Green Gables movies, etc. I have to read A Separate Peace one of these days. I’ve seen the Jane Brodie movie but have not read the book — I should. Interesting list!

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

