Top 5 Wednesday: Protagonists You Hate to Like

I couldn’t come up with a list enough different for this week’s “Problematic faves: Characters you don’t want to love, but you can’t help liking.” So, I’m re-posting  “Protagonists You Hate To Like.”

Hopewell's Public Library of Life

Top5Wed

Richard Grenville

King's General

Richard is unapologetically masculine, while also being weak. But Honor Harris fell in love with him and so did I. I cried a few times reading this book. It remains my favorite by Daphne Du Maurier–even more so than the older man -younger woman Rebecca.

Dexter Mayhew

41I2IbUn+JL._SY346_

I know, I know! I shouldn’t like him. He trampled all over Emma! It’s disloyalty to a sister to say that maybe Emma asked for some of it. Not like she tried very hard to get a life, is it?  So, yeah. I kind of liked Dexter. Kind of. Not in a “let’s spend a lifetime together” way. Just kinda. Sure he’s a jerk, but let’s face it, he was an appealing jerk!

Sir Richard Carlisle (aka Jorah)

2b7edcf6f1568bcf6841edf4b0484564.jpg

Let’s be honest here. As dwerpy/sweet as Matthew was, he’d never have kept Mary happy. Mary would have raged with boredom after…

View original post 506 more words

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Protagonists You Hate to Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

