Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Mash-ups

Top5Wed

 

This week’s topic is Mash-ups. “You know those comp titles they list in synopses that read something like “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones”! What would be some of your favorite mash ups, that would make you pick up a book? “A mix of ________ and ___________.” Remember, you can also incorporate games, tv, movies, etc. Get creative! ”

 

1. For Fans of Harry Potter who love to be immersed in the world of the books they read.

51hX2lw3ssL

I’ve only read [well, listened to] book one (this one) but if this is any indication the series will be wonderful, too. My daughter and I listened to the excellent audio version recorded by Lynn Redgrave. We couldn’t continue with book 2 when we found out it had a different narrator. It’s hard! The voice of the narrator easily becomes the voice of a series. Check out this post on the topic. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke.

 

2. For Fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey and all things British mystery

 

 

Josephine Tey’s murder mysteries were written in the late1920s to mid 1950s. A new series now has the author herself solving crimes. You can read more about that series in this post.

 

3. For Fans of John Mellencamp who dream of small towns

 

61I6c+scclL._SY346_

Can you really go back? Can high school romance last? Read my full review here. Shotgun Lovesongs by Nicholas Butler.

 

4. For those just discovering vinyl is cool and who are fans of of book shop literature

51Yve+dkyuL._SY346_

The Music Shop: A Novel by Rachel Joyce. You can read my full review here. I love a book with a playlist.

 

5.  The upcoming one for all those Moms who loved Bridget Jones, thought they’d be perfect Yummy Mummys,  but now go to a book club with wine to whine.

 

 

 

I’ve included the first book, I Don’t Know How She Does It, in case you somehow missed it while pumping breast milk in a janitor’s closet or driving to soccer or were trying to recover from your children in general. I am so anxious for How Hard Can It Be? that I have an alert set for publication day! 50-something with kids and parents both needing help IS SERIOUSLY HARD. Like 3 toddlers hard but without a nap. This I know first-hand. And, I just plain loved the first book.

 

You can participate in Top 5 Wednesday. Join the group at Goodreads to get the weekly topic, then write a post or do a video!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Mash-ups

I enjoy reading your comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s