Forgotten Books: Found & Read Since January and Five Books I Want to Rescue From My TBR & Read Before Year’s End

7c5bba292e926b9b347b0eab7cc80a32

Click for list creator’s credit

This year I deleted hundreds of “forgotten” books from my enormous (1000+) TBR list on Goodreads. I can never remember titles so I love Goodreads for this use especially. But, honestly? If I haven’t read them and they’ve been there since 2006 or 2007, most won’t be read in my lifetime. Some were novels of the moment. Some novels I couldn’t find on audio. Those with “merit” (my definition) I kept. Along the way I discovered one or two and read them (or found them on my Kindle though they are on the huge list, too). Here the ones I’ve “rescued” and read and then there is the list of five books I’d like to rescue and read by year’s end.

 

Rescued and Read

 

 

To Read By Year’s End

51yHC8mT6xL

This book have been on my list since the day I joined Goodreads. The problem has been that my library system didn’t have it on audio. In my new job I have access to several library systems by virtue of working for my employer. Guess what? All of the new-to-me systems have it. Plus, my one splurge has been to get an Audible account–the cheapest membership. So, it will happen finally.

The Bostonians by Henry James

41skjwGrsRL

I bought this book in 2012 back when I was trying to conquer my dislike of short stories (I’ve improved my opinion of them a lot since ’12). I pulled this out a few months ago and enjoyed the first story. I want to finish this book.

Arrange Marriage: Stories by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

 

51Xc+9uXV5L._SY346_

I was reminded of this book (actually this trilogy) by Elle Thinks post on her self-challenge to read from Africa this summer. (Won’t you be nice and click and read her post? Leave her a nice comment. Bloggers live off comments). So, I’d like to finish this one during the summer.

Palace Walk by Naguib Mahfouz 

51zN7wLgJwL._SY346_

I requested and received this book for Christmas, sat down and devoured the first half then life got in the way and I haven’t finished it. It is a very interesting foodie book. I love this version of Nashville Hot Chicken (a burger in this case).

 

51ip9xzupYL._SY346_

I found this when I was reading about Hygge (see posts below). It sounds just right for pre-Christmas reading so I’ll try to read it in December.

Christmas Island by Natalie Normann



Have you read any of these? Have you done a similar post? Leave me a comment or a link to your own post.

13 thoughts on “Forgotten Books: Found & Read Since January and Five Books I Want to Rescue From My TBR & Read Before Year’s End

Add yours

  1. christmas Island looks so cute! I think it’s fun to look back over to-read things from years ago. Sometimes I wonder why I put things there … it feels kind of freeing to remove things that don’t interest me anymore. You keep reminding me that I want to read more DuMaurier.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to do a clean up of my Goodreads list too. It’s been so long since I looked at it that I’ve forgotten what is in there.. The problem is that when I’m in a bookshop or library it’s much easier to look at a list in my phone than it is to go to Goodreads

    Like

  3. Nice rescues! I regularly go over the books I put ten years ago on my Goodreads shelf, some I delete, but some I keep. I recently listened to The Thirteenth Tale, by Setterfield, I believe the very first book I had put on my Goodreads TBR. So glad I did end up reading it!
    I don’t know these by Du Maurier. Will have a look. I recently discovered Mahfouz, with Midaq Alley, it was so so good

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The GoodReads app on my phone is a wonderful thing! I can add new books easily when I hear about them and more importantly when I am at the library or bookstore I can check to see if I already have a book on my shelf or what else I have read by an iteresting-looking author. Thanks for the link to the reading project at Elle Thinks — I may do a Fall one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My TBR shelf is pathetic. Some of the books have been there for years. I am probably no longer interested in many of them. My reading tastes have certainly changed over time but I guess everyone’s does. It will be a huge job to tackle it so it’s probably better if I do it a little at a time. Makes me tired to think about it!

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑