Review: New Beginnings at Wildflower Lock by Hannah Lynn

51V0of3d-HL._SY445_SX342_ (1)

Thank you to blogger Superfluous Reading for bringing this book to my attention. Won’t you click the linked title of their blog and go read the review. Leave a nice comment–we bloggers live on nice comments.

My Interest

Since reading Narrowboat Summer (UK title: Three Women and a Boat) by Ann Youngson, I’ve been fascinated by the British canals and their amazing narrowboats–houseboats of a certain type. I was so enthused that I watched all the seasons of Timothy West and Prunella Scales’ t.v. show Our Great Canal Journeys, in which they journey on their own narrowboat. Now I’m reading the classic account of these boats for my next Classics Club Spin review.

The Story

Daisy May left art school after one semester and now, a few years on, works at a dull job that she appreciates for it’s pay check. Her world is changed when the grandfather she didn’t know (but knew of) left her a boat, called The September Rose, with mooring at Wildflower Lock. At last her prayers are answer and she can sell the boat and get on the notoriously expensive London property ladder. When she goes to investigate her new asset she she’s rather different “assets” of her neighbor when she enters his boat by mistake. But he is just who she needs–a guy who loves doing up old boats for fun. For Daisy’s boat needs work. Realizing she won’t be able to afford all the work, Daisy lets neighbor Theo enjoy himself doing it up while doing all she is able to do by following his instructions.

But one good curve ball in life can happen your first time at bat, right? It takes 3 strikes to be out! A few more curve balls come at Daisy–one a mighty one. Will she see through her work? Will her boat sell easily when done? Will Phil and Kirstie come and help (sorry, that’s my fantasy)…. And what about all those birthday cards she finds? Is her life what she’s long thought it was?

My Thoughts

Aside from her overly-cutesy name (“May” is her last name/surname) I loved this little story! I loved it so much I already downloaded the audio of the sequel! I loved the way Daisy faced challenges, but didn’t do it all effortlessly or perfectly. I liked that her friends were there for her but not every second. This is a feel good book so I could even live with the almost instant solution to that bit of bother with a family member [no spoilers!!]. I liked the chemistry between Daisy and Theo very much–which doesn’t happen that often for me. I even liked the grumpy, but honest, art gallery owner!

This was a sweet,  but not cloying or precious, story. I even learned a little bit more about the boats.

My Verdict

4.0

I listened to the audio version of this book.

New Beginnings at Wildflower Lock by Hannah Lynn is book one of a new series.

7 thoughts on “Review: New Beginnings at Wildflower Lock by Hannah Lynn

Add yours

  1. This sounds good! I didn’t know anything about UK canals either until they also featured in “Armadale” by Wilkie Collins that I read recently. I used to teach with a lady with the last name May; admittedly her first name was not Daisy though 🙂 Good review!

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑