Review: Diva: A Novel by Daisy Goodwin

713Mx2MZdBL._SY425_

Thank you to #Netgalley for a free copy of this audio book in exchange for a fair review.

My experience with opera is ….well…not “non-existence” (I went to Indiana University–students study there to be opera singers and a high school friend did just that) but it tends to center around the cd of The World’s Very Best Opera For Kids, which, like the dramatized audio NIV Bible, I used to calm my son in the car when he was a very active elementary schooler. I also read aloud to my kids from Sing Me A Story: The Metropolitan Opera’s Book of Opera Stories for Kids. And, for those laughing at this idea–yes, it took work! But I’d make a fancy tea and we’d read poetry and a ballet or opera story (there’s a matching ballet stories book–Dance Me a Story). I also played classical music, including Purcell’s Dido and Aneas, when things go a little too tired, tense, or rowdy at home. Harp music was another thing to calm the waters (I’m pretty sure Michelle Duggar stole that from me, lol).

Also, remember my Kennedy books? Well, Jackie going from drop-dead-handsome JFK to a guy with a Canadian Navy frigate for a yacht but who looked like a bucket of frogs–well….yes, I’m interested.

The Story

Embed from Getty Images

Maria Callas and Aristotle Onassis

In the late 1950’s and 1960’s opera star, aka “Diva” Maria Callas and shipping magnate Aristotle Onassis were the “world’s best known Greeks” well, living Greeks anyway. Even though Callas was born in New York her parents were Greek. 

While married to his wife, Tina, the mother of his two children, Onassis went after Maria Callas. A trophy, if not to go with his “trophy wife.” Maria was also married, but was childless, and bored by her husband. On a cruise with the Churchills on Ari’s yacht The Christina (named for his daughter) in spite of her incredible talent and her amazing career, Maria ell for his lines like a school girl.

“Why buy the cow when the milk is free?” Is said in just about every culture–with reason.

Maria fell so hard for Ari, yet he once he’d bedded her it was obvious to everyone but her that he was on to the Bouvier sisters–Lee Radziwell and Jackie Kennedy. So much so that he was invited to JFK’s funeral–a real coup. We know what happened next…..

All the while, Maria was “spending the gold coins” that were her voice. She knew her days in opera were numbered. Oh, sure, she could go on recording records and even giving concerts, but a full opera? That would end.

Meanwhile, Ari and their physical passion took over whenever Ari needed it.

My Thoughts

This story was well told. I could have done with a little less play-by-play of their “intimacy.” There are trends in how that is told–did you know that? No matter the historical era men in books now give women a very intimate pleasure and rarely get to be on top. So glad to read that Madam Callas and Ari were on trend.  (Honestly, it wasn’t a big part of this story and, for once, it did go with the story).

Daisy Goodwin tells a heck of a story and this one really was well told. She picked the perfect opening for the story, too. (No spoilers).  Those women who are brought up only to marry money. Wow. Compare that to the woman who developed a career that made her the face of opera. I always thought it was beyond tacky for Jackie to marry Ari, but it is now even more so. Like Princess Diana, she settled for her sister’s cast-offs. Not good.

I did find it interesting that Maria saw herself as the “step-child” of her family, yet everything went to provide her with voice lessons. She remembered having to wear her big sister’s clothing and her mother endlessly praising her sister.  Her mother making her sing for money during the war. I was left wondering what the truth was there. I’m a parent of two adults. What was the phrase Buckingham Palace used? “Recollections may vary.” I did snort when there was mention of Maria and “my truth”. Of for the love of God can we bury that phrase? Her OPINION can be different. The truth is the truth. No matter–that’s splitting hairs. I felt for Maria, deeply, throughout the book. 

I remember the rather tacky movie, The Greek Tycoon, with Jacqueline Bisset. The relationship Maria Callas settled for was about as awful. Everyone else could see it. She couldn’t. Jackie (and her sister, Lee, had she wanted to) knew how to close the deal–get the ring and the priest. Maria was too kind, too forgiving. Ari saw it and took advantage of it. It’s ok, Maria. I was naive and trusting, too. I understand. At least I got the marriage license and he was handsome. Onassis is one of the ugliest men ever. His taste in eye wear–the glasses he didn’t like to see Maria wear–was beyond awful. But a man who takes a mistress will take another one. As the saying goes, if he marries the mistress there’s a job opening.

One nice touch I must mention was the inclusion of snippets of Maria singing in the audio version. Amazing. Such a great way to change to the next part of the story.

A final note. I pulled out my copy of The Tongs and the Bones--the late Lord Harewood’s memoirs. The eldest grandchild of King George V, George Harewood was huge in the opera world of the 1950s and 1960s. I took time to read what he wrote about Maria. Her career was amazing–Diva is maybe not enough of a title.

Embed from Getty Images

Lord Harewood (second left) and Maria Callas (being kissed)

My Verdict

3.75

Too much description of their intimate acts for my taste–even if it wasn’t that much. Even if it was a part of the story. It was just a bit tacky, so down a notch to 3.75.

I listened to the audio.

Want another opinion? My friend Susan, who blogs at Girls in White Dresses, also reviewed this book. She’s a well educated, trained classical pianist and opera lover. Why not click the link title of her blog and go read her review, too? Leave her a nice comment.

7 thoughts on “Review: Diva: A Novel by Daisy Goodwin

Add yours

  1. Aw, thanks for the link! I’m glad you enjoyed it too. I agree with everything you said and now I’m wishing I could remember the “intimate” scenes more — I remember a bit of cringe-worthy stuff. I would have loved the audio clips of Maria singing! Our library store’s reject shelf had a CD of La Traviata with Maria singing the lead role. I snapped it up and listen to it a lot — love it! Going to check out the kids’ opera book now. What a great idea (to write a book about those stories, which can be a little complex)!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay, now I’m certain that I won’t be reading this one. Not much of a Goodwin fan, mostly because the couple I read many, many years ago were a bit to… er… graphic about the intimacy for my taste. I was on the fence about this one – Callas was a B*tch, albeit a very talented one! She did some masterclasses and was famous among vocal students who attended, because every session had at least ONE student burst out in tears. My mother was a violin and vocal student at the Chicago Musical College when Callas did a masterclass there. She said no less than three singers left the stage crying. My mother only was in the audience, though, so she was spared the humiliation. And to be totally honest – I’m not a huge fan of her voice. Yeah, heresy I know, but it always sounds so… muddy to my ear – like she’s got a mouth full of cotton.

    Like

  3. Your review is just great. I know very little about Maria but do remember she was in the news with Ari. I have nearly no knowledge about opera but your review makes me interested. I probably won’t read this book but I sure enjoyed your review.

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑