Six Degrees of Separation: Picnic at Hanging Rock

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have not read Picnic at Hanging Rock and know about it only what the blurb on Amazon told me. Since I have a dear friend who promotes her nation’s literary classics on her blog, A Peaceful Day, I am now hanging my head in shame! From the movie version stills I gather I’d enjoy it. I’ll add it to my To Read list and hope I get to it soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The book cover in the Amazon link may be different than those pictured here.

I do not make any money off of links. They are just for your convenience.

 

My Chain….

 

 

A Town Like Alice by Nevil Shute

 

 

 

 

 

One of my few full 5 Star rated read,  A Town Like Alice is another Australian classic. It was made into a television series many years ago and shown on PBS Masterpiece Theater (as it was called then). I saw parts of it. I’ve read the book twice and love it more each time. A Town Like Alice by Nevil Shute

 

Cloudstreet by Tim Winton

 

 

 

 

 

Cloudstreet is always on those lists of great modern novels. I’ve had it on my To Read list since it came out. I really should read it because I’m sure I’ll love it. Cloudstreet by Tim Winton

 

The Fatal Shore by Robert Hughes

 

 

 

 

 

Since I have great-great grandparents who went out to Australia and failed before ending up in Indiana, I’ve intended to read this book for years and years. Another one I should probably just pick up and start reading already! The Fatal Shore by Robert Hughes.

 

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

 

51zS47EOayL._SY346_

 

 

The Rosie Project is a contemporary Australian novel that is just plain fun. No other reason to include it. It’s fun. Read it. You’ll laugh. The Rosie Project by Grameme Simsion.

 

 

 

 

 

The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough

 

 

 

 

 

I cannot tell a lie on books! This is also an all-time favorite. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve read it. Meggie and Ralph–one of my gateway older man, younger women couples. They came into my life right after Scarlett and Rhett. I used to own a copy of the miniseries on VHS. Why you ask? Richard Chamberlain. (She swoons just remembering him in that bespoke soutane!) The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough.

 

 

Finally….

 

51AOO8iEskL._SY377_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Because who hasn’t thought of moving to Australia on a bad day?? Alexander…..Very Bad Day by Judith Virost. Did you know in the Australian version of the book he wants to move to Timbuktu?

 

Want to Join In?

I’m off to check out the other chains in this month’s Six Degrees of Separation before I go read a lot about Australia! How about you? Want to read them? Or join in next month? Here’s the link to the rules. And here is the link to July’s posts.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation: Picnic at Hanging Rock

Add yours

  1. What fabulous books on your list! I encourage you to read Cloudstree – I have read most of Tim Winton’s books, and I think it’s still one of my favourites; one of the rare times I’ve read a book more than once. I still haven’t read The Thorn Birds, although you are at least the second person to include it in this month’s chain.

    My chain is here: https://www.melindatognini.com.au/6-degrees-of-separation-from-picnic-at-hanging-rock-to-shallows/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You learn something new everyday! I didn’t know that the rest of the world moved to Australia for their no good, very bad day!!

    Love you Aussie chain – I’ve read them all but The Fatal Shore. Great choices 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m amazed that Thorn Birds has popped up – I had kind of forgotten about it but do remember that we all thought the tv series was quite racy 😉 Probably if I watched it (or read it) now it would seem relatively tame.

    I love A Town Like Alice, although it’s been a long time since I read it. Same with Cloudstreet – bump it up your list, it’s terrific.

    And I think your final link wins – it’s gorgeous 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑