Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Novellas/Short Stories

toptentuesday

This week’s topic, Favorite Novellas/Short Stories, is a difficult one for me. I’m not a reader of short stories. They’re either too short or too long! But I do know a few that I’ve enjoyed. Novellas are a different thing. I read those. So, here goes!

Note: If you are curious about the short stories, I’ve linked to the full text when possible.

 

Short Stories

The Rocking Horse Winner by D. H. Lawrence

 

rockinghorse

Back in the 1970’s, students read excerpts from literature more often than reading an entire book. The Rocking Horse Winner is a short story and I loved it then and now.  While I have not even yet read all of D.H. Lawrence’s work, I’ve enjoyed each of his books that I have read.

 

A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Connor

 

81l7-WU3LHL

I read this a few years ago, out of guilt at having never read Flannery O’Connor. It was well worth it. A Good Man is Hard To Find.

 

The Snows of Kilinanjaro by Ernest Hemingway

 

03ac0430-bcd9-4118-ae44-176e2afcb38b_1.aef346e6c620088c1ded5c3d2fdc565b

 

In Peace Corps many, many people planned to go on and climb Kimimanjaro. It held no appeal for me.  But copies of the book with the short story in it were everywhere in Malawi at that time–it seems every Peace Corps volunteer of my era brought it and/or Out of Africa with them. The Snows of Kilimanjaro by Ernest Hemingway.

 

Good-bye Columbus by Philip Roth

516byGW5jqL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

I read this in college in the early 80s. I still think about it from time-to-time. Goodbye Columbus by Philip Roth.

 

Novellas or Really Short Novels

 

The Driver’s Seat by Muriel Spark

 

drivers

This one gripped me tight from the start. Then the end….! The Driver’s Seat by Muriel Spark.

 

 

Mr. Chartwell by Rebecca Hurt

51r6qGlEQZL

This little story is the best picture of depression I’ve ever read. Mr. Chartwell by Rebecca Hurt.

 

The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett

 

51gXcZK1WaL

Queen Elizabeth discovers the bookmobile. The Uncommon Reader: A Novella by Alan Bennett.

 

Our Souls at Night by Ken Haurf

41lebwsb8xL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_QL70_

This one was not billed as a novella, but it is under 200 pages. You can read my full review here [scroll down in the post].

 

Nemesis by Philip Roth

 

31n+2FaklVL._SY346_

Two titles by Roth is a little unusual for me, but this little book was a really good read so it belongs here. Nemesis by Philip Roth.

 

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

xmascarol

 

It’s Christmas in July! I love A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (link is to the full text)–so much packed into such a small novella.

 

Enjoy all of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday posts at That Artsy Reader Girl.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Novellas/Short Stories

Add yours

  1. I don’t often read short stories either … yet I did read that one by Flannery O’Connor (I really like her), and I read several from that collection of Hemingway in high school. His are good too! And I just finished a book of 5 by Stephen King that were good (in a creepy way). The others you mentioned here sound good as well. I should check some of them out!

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑