Review: Daisy Jones & the Six: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid

51zVMq4SniL._SY346_.jpg

My Interest

I’m a child of the 60s and 70s. I graduated from high school in 1980. This was our world–Rock and Roll!

The Story

A brothers band makes the big time then soars to the stratosphere after adding vocals by a talented singer and songwriter with an unfortunate lack of self-esteem that leads to constant drug use. The band produces a “perfect” album and endures the consequences.

My Thoughts

I listened to the audiobook and my first thought, about 20 minutes in, was this should win the Audie for this genre. I still feel that way. The Rock-u-mentary format is a perfect fit for this story.  Billy, Daisy, and Camilla [spelling–I listened to the audio] have so much tension, conflict, friendship, and love going on that it was very hard to shut the audio off when I reached my office of my home each day. I wanted to keep listening! Best of all there is not a cliche to be had!

The behind-the-scenes workings of the producer, the stars, the manager–it was truly like being with the band even though they were fictional! And the memories of Don Kirshner’s Rock Concert, American Band Stand, the newest issue of Rolling Stone, and the rest–what great summer memories. I swear I can hear the songs they wrote and performed. That’s how good this was.

Without a doubt, this will remain one of my favorite books of the year. It has it all–two fabulous characters, a good supporting cast, excellent writing, conflict, story arcs, you name it. This book just plain ROCKS [sorry]. It’s the perfect length for a summer read. Just buy it and rock on.

My Verdict

4 stars

Daisy Jones & the Six: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid

11 thoughts on “Review: Daisy Jones & the Six: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Add yours

  1. Sounds like a great book! I just saw it’s available on the app I use to listen to audiobooks. Will definitely add it on there and try to get to it soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑