Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read About Vacations aka Vacation Books III

ttt-new

This week’s topic is supposed to be: “Books I Read On Vacation,” but I don’t go on vacation. I just hang out at home when I’m off work. So, I looked at fictional vacations instead. I’ve done two past posts, conveniently with five books each on this topic! I’ll like those at the bottom.

The Newest Vacation Books I’ve Read

The links are to my review unless otherwise noted.

51zQNS+SCpS._SY346_

Several of Judy Leigh’s books have vacations in them, but this one is almost solely about a vacation. Lil’s Bus Trip by Judy Leigh.

 

41c29oixPwL._SY346_

Going from Ireland to India mostly on a bicycle is not everyone’s idea of a vacation–especially not for a lone young woman in 1963! Full Tilt: From Ireland to India With a Bicycle by Dervla Murphy

51tm4HrXSwL._SY346_

Going into hiding and faking a vacation can be fun, right? The Bodyguard: A Novel by Katherine Center

513ZFXokVxL._SY346_

You just know when Chief Inspector Armand Gamache goes to Paris for the birth of his grandchild that something will force him back on duty. All the Devils Are Here: A Novel by Louise Penny is the 16th Gamache book. (Link is to Amazon–I rarely review series books due to spoilers).

ba12583582f44b2f28628d4b5ec9925a

The annual workingman’s family vacation at the shore. The Fortnight in September by R.C. Sherriff

 

51uAcg20XJL

The Maine summer colony vacation. Haven Point: A Novel by Virginia Hume

41lkosn8qjl._sx324_bo1204203200_

A 1930’s matron travels to the Middle East to visit her daughter and gets stranded for a while at the border with an old friend. Absent in the Spring by Mary Westmacott (aka Agatha Christie)

 

51DZ9FcZqFS

Part travel writing, part foodie book, many stories are “vacation-like” enough to include this book. World Travel: An Irreverent Guide by Anthony Bourdain

51ROZoam1SL._SY346_

The private island where William and Catherine, the late Princess Margaret, Mick Jagger, and more of the ultra-rich love to vacation is the setting for this mystery. So vacation-ish book. Murder on Mustique by Anne Glenconner

416OgkY6elL._SY346_

A memoir this time, of a wonderful group vacation riding Icelandic horses! Wild Horses of the Summer Sun by Tory Bilski

Want more vacation books? Click the links below to go to my previous vacation books posts!

Best Vacation Books

Vacation Books II

toptentuesday2

Check out the rules at That Artsy Reader Girl and join in next week!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read About Vacations aka Vacation Books III

Add yours

  1. The R C Sherriff is just wonderful isn’t it? There’s a sense at the end that things have changed for the family and of course, given the time period, we know that even greater change is about to be forced upon them

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice twist Lisa. You have a very eclectic mix of books here and there are a couple that definitely interest me like the Icelandic Horse Memoir and Anthony Bourdain’s book.

    Like

  3. You never go on vacation?? Interesting. I’m a big homebody, but I also like to travel. Naturally, I always bring books with me when I go 🙂 I haven’t read any of your picks, although I love the Gamache series. I just haven’t gotten to this installment yet.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Like

  4. You seem to have twisted your topic similarly to the way I did. Nice that you posted books about holidays.

    I hope you get to read “Mercy and Grace” about the Camino. Please, let me know if you do.

    Thanks for visiting my My TTT this week which is all about travel books.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved seeing your list of books about vacations/travels. I always enjoyed, as an adult, going on trips. There were no family trips when I was a child. Just never went anywhere. So I probably went overboard when I had kids! Now that my hubby and I are at the age where it’s hard to travel, I enjoy vacation/travels books more than ever.

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑