Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Audiobook Narrators

ttt-new

 

51gIS3BY-qL

Ralph Corsham– The G.O.A.T.  of audio books!

Ralph is still, to me, THE voice of Louise Penny’s Chief Inspector Gamache novels. Poor Robert Bathurst (my beloved Sir Anthony Strallon of the early seasons of Downton Abbey) had to take on an impossible role in following him. I think it is good that Robert is so different though. Trying to mimic Ralph would have been disaster. Ralph narrated or performed over 100 books! In addition to all of his Gamache recordings, I’ve also listened to him perform The Screwtape Letters, How Green Was My Valley and possibly others.

 

51DzfVk9CKL

Mary Sarah

Mary Sarah performed several of the Barbara Pym books I’ve listened to. I love the upswing in her voice as she says “Chapter Whatever.” She is perfect for the dry humor of these books. My review of  No Fond Return on Love is coming next week.

 

51kDt86TpPL

Lisette Lecat

Lisette is THE voice of Precious Ramotswe of the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency. For whatever reason, she disappeared from the series for exactly one book. Thank goodness, she is back! I have also enjoyed her performance on the books of Alexandra Fuller and possibly others.

C. J. Critt

41x+p7T7pmL

C. J. Critt was the original, and superb, voice of the Stephanie Plum series. I quit listening when the new voice arrived. I had to read them–I just couldn’t deal with the change. Like the others listed here, I may have heard her “do” other authors’ works as well.

 

51rAZlLFlFL

Robert Ian Mackenzie

A book series gets you very well acquainted with the narrator. 44 Scotland Street has such personalities! It takes a gifted narrator to do them all.

 

 

41KaqVvSGoL

Cassandra Campbell

Among her many audio books, I’ve listened to not only Where the Crawdads Sing, but also America’s First Daughter, The Painted Girls, The Girls of Atomic City, and probably more.

 

51tvZgxI9tL

John McDonough

My Dream Narrator

70th Berlin Film Festival Opening Ceremony 20515
February 20, 2020, Berlin, Great Britain, United Kingdom: Actor Jeremy Irons attends the 70th Berlin International Film Festival Opening Ceremony and My Salinger Year Screening in Berlin, Germany…FEBRUARY 20th 2020. (Credit Image: © Matrix via ZUMA Press) (Newscom TagID: zumaamericastwentysix801571.jpg) [Photo via Newscom]

I’d listen to Jeremy Irons hold a GOP Senate or House filibuster! That’s how much I love his voice!

That’s all for this week! 

toptentuesday2

Check out the rules at That Artsy Reader Girl and join in next week!

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Audiobook Narrators

Add yours

  1. I know I’ve listened to Cassandra Campbell more than once, but now I’m drawing a blank on the specific books (but I do agree that she’s great!). Lisette Lecat was amazing on the the first book in the series — I never got further than that, but I loved her voice, and probably should get back to the series.

    Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑