Top Ten Tuesday: The First 10 Books I Randomly Grabbed from My Shelf

ttt-new

51jR8ztZ+xL._SY346_

Everybody Writes by Ann Handley

This was a Christmas gift to each member of our team from our boss at the University the Christmas before covid. Likely if I read it, my blog would be monetizable! lol

71SN2hmyC4L._AC_UF1000,1000_QL80_

Roads to Santiago by Gees Nooteboom

For the last two years I’ve been reading some of this book during Winston’s Dad’s Blog’s Spanish and Portuguese Literature Month.

df8f93e6-e7ba-479a-8bd2-954f0ca78101.051dab12bf48077f0c36e0261e21527e

Edward VIII by Frances Donaldson

Even with newer information, released after the death of the Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother, this remains the definitive biography of the Uncrowned King whose abdication gave us today’s House of Windsor. Sadly, it is out-of-print, but is widely available used for reasonable prices (the $72 Amazon quotes is not typical).

md31073076156

Lost Horizon by James Hilton

I’ve been meaning to read this since about the 7th grade (circa 1974). The book that gave the Presidential retreat, Camp David, it’s original name: Shangri-La (named by FDR). It was renamed by Dwight Eisenhower in honor of his grandson, David.

61vwN2dzU+L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

The Complete Book of Heraldry by Stephen Slater

This is a reference book, but I have read parts of it.

51CPrCItgvL._SY346_

This book is part of my Roosevelt collection. I haven’t read it yet. America 1933 by Michael Golay.

9780312084981-us

I have, and love, all of James Herriot’s books. I loved the original t.v. series too. I’ve watched some of the new series, and like it, but miss my “old friends.” All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot–how many times have I read these books? [FYI: I HATE the current American covers–looks like Old Yeller. Awful!!!!!]

41nfJAQOcPL

Snobs: A Novel by Julian Fellowes of Downton Abbey fame. I haven’t read it yet.

51gTXZ0lTQL._SX389_BO1,204,203,200_

Sister Wendy was amazing! My son and I watched some of her shows back in the day. I still have this book. The Story of Painting.

51F3RFhoFwL._SY346_

I’m a huge Doris Kearns Goodwin fan! This one, though, was D-U-L-L. There! I’ve said it! Team of Rivals by Doris Kearns Goodwin.

toptentuesday2

Check out the rules at That Artsy Reader Girl and join in next week!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The First 10 Books I Randomly Grabbed from My Shelf

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑