1962 Club Review: The Slave by Isaac Bashevis Singer UPDATED

31srp5JjqjL._SY445_SX342_

6667f12f51c65cd8b642b8f0897e0962 (1)

First, thank you to Simon at Stuck in a Book and Karen at Kaggsy’s Bookish Ramblings for hosting the #1962Club.

My Interest

I’ve been “going to” read Isaac Bashevis Singer since the 1980s. When I saw this book in the lists of books published in 1962 (the year I was born), I was pretty sure this was the one I’d most likely read. When it turned out to be the only one of my three choices I could find on audio–that settled it.

The Story

“For the wages of sin is death” (Romans 6:23)

All sin is murder (paraphrase, The Slave)

In 17h Century Poland, the Jews have been welcomed in by King Casimir III, but not necessarily but his subjects. Jacob, a Jew, has become enslaved. He has lost his wife and children in a pogrom, and now lives little better than an animal.  Eventually he is ransomed.

Wanda, a Catholic Pole, falls for him–deeply and passionately.  Her passion would not be sated and Jacob, who fought his passions in accord with the teachings of his faith, could not hold out forever.

Possible Spoilers

They cohabit, breaking laws of traditions in both faiths. Wanda takes up the ways of a Jewish wife. She tries to act as a mute–“Dumb Wanda,” to protect them, but when Jacob’s life is threatened she cannot keep up the act. At first this is regarded as a miracle. Their Jewish neighbors verify that she is “mute,” the the noble lord is skeptical.

Wanda eventually gives birth–both when she speaks it is regarded as “possession”–a demon has possessed her body. It is the demon speaking.

Later in life Jacob lives a very simple life–doing the most undesirable labor, eating no “flesh” only plants. Some saw him as one of the Righteous.

My Thoughts

I was afraid I wouldn’t like this one. I thought it would be too much like a story in a book of folk tales. I was wrong. This was a very compelling story of a man of faith–great faith, but still with God-given free will. Wanda’s passion is show in real detail (nothing icky or overly graphic)–she is a peasant, this is an Earthy passion. Jacob is sincere and decent.

I should not have doubted that a man whose books are so well-known and so widely quoted would wrote a very readable story. I’d now like to read more of his work.

It is interesting that this book was published in 1962 as Civil Rights was at a fever pitch in America. Whenever people “cross lines” others forecast trouble. Reading Jacob and Wanda’s story must have been a literary “warning” in one way. In another way it shows how alike all people are. Not only because hypocrites are called on in both faith, but because two people, in spite of their differences, fell into lust and love and decided to live their own lives. No spoilers on this part…..

My Verdict

4.5

The Slave by Isaac Bashevis Singer

2 thoughts on “1962 Club Review: The Slave by Isaac Bashevis Singer UPDATED

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑