Top Ten Tuesday: Thanksgiving Freebie–UPDATED

ttt-new

First the Update

New favorite use of leftovers

Instant-Pot-Turkey-Soup-Blog-4

Photo and recipe by Cookin Canuck

Cookin’ Canuck’s Turkey Soup (Instant Pot or Stovetop)

Healthy Instant Pot Turkey Soup. Filled with fresh herbs and flavor

Prep Time: 15 minutes Cook Time: 8 minutes Pressure Cooker Wait Time: 25 minutes Total Time: 50 minutes Servings: Servings Author: Dara Michalski | Cookin’ Canuck

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • ½ yellow onion chopped
  • 2 large carrots cut into half-circles
  • 2 large celery stalks chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh sage
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh rosemary
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh thyme
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon ground pepper
  • 7 cups turkey or chicken broth
  • 2 cups uncooked egg noodles
  • 1 pound chopped cooked turkey (or chicken) mix of light & dark meat (4 cups)
  • 3 tablespoons minced flat-leaf parsley

Instructions

Instant Pot Instructions:

  • Set the Instant Pot to Saute mode. Add the olive oil. Stir in the onions and cook until starting to soften, 3 to 4 minutes.
  • Add the carrots and celery, and cook until the vegetables are starting to soften, 2 to 3 minutes.
  • Stir in the garlic, sage, rosemary, thyme, salt and pepper. Cook for 1 minute.
  • Add the turkey or chicken broth. Set the Instant Pot to High pressure on Manual mode. Reduce the time to 5 minutes. It will take about 15 minutes to come to pressure.
  • Once the time expires, let the pressure release naturally for 10 minutes. Release the pressure manually.
  • Press the Saute button. Once the broth is boiling, add the egg noodles and chopped turkey. Cook until the noodles are tender, about 6 minutes.
  • Turn off the Instant Pot and stir in the parsley. Serve.

Stovetop Instructions:

  • Heat the olive oil in a large nonstick saucepan. Add the onion and cook until starting to soften, 3 to 4 minutes.
  • Add the carrots and celery, and cook until the vegetables are starting to soften, 2 to 3 minutes.
  • Stir in the garlic, sage, rosemary, thyme, salt and pepper. Cook for 1 minute.
  • Add the turkey or chicken broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Simmer for 15 minutes.
  • Turn up the heat so that the soup is boiling gently. Stir in the egg noodles and chopped turkey. Cook until the noodles are tender, 6 to 7 minutes.
  • Remove from the heat and stir in the parsley.

Tried this recipe? If you make this recipe, I’d love to see it on Instagram! Just use the hashtag #COOKINCANUCK and I’ll be sure to find it.

This post was first published on November 29, 2019. It was updated with new tips and text on November 10, 2021.

The Old

500px-'Freedom_From_Want'_-_NARA_-_513539

What to eat with the Macy’s Parade?

This a new tradition I’ve shared with my Mom and my kids if we manage to all get up time. These wonderful pumpkin scones.

My favorite Thanksgiving memory?

Making dressing (stuffing) with my Dad. It was the only thing he ever did in the kitchen.

My Worst Thanksgiving Memory?

My uncle and aunt’s neighbor, Mrs. Murray, constantly saying “You can take all you want, but you must eat all you take,” to those of use at the kids’ table.

My Other Worst Thanksgiving Memory?

Creepy old Grandmother Fry, who was not actually my relative (my Mom’s cousins’ “other” grandmother) but who scared the you-know-what out of me! Years later her grandson told me she did the same to him.

Thanksgiving Fact

Photo source: Campbells

I’m the only member of my family who will touch green bean casserole. It’s best made in an old aqua Pyrex casserole dish that no one remembers ever had a lid. Aunt Betty or someone brings it every year. We never had enough aunts for that and my Mom wouldn’t serve anything with Campbell’s Cream of Crap soup in it. She served us plenty of Chicken Noodle Soup and my Dad ate his weight in Bean and Bacon, but we never had Green Bean Casserole.

Favorite Thanksgiving mementos?

127434580_10165368572390643_4259590896454432193_o

My daughter’s first and second grade Thanksgiving creations.

Most Fun I Ever Had on Thanksgiving

Attending the 1973 Indiana University — Purdue University Old Oaken Bucket football game.

At that time I was decked out in a fashionably long black and gold scarf to root for Purdue–my parents, aunt and uncle, and grandfather’s school. In seven years, I would enroll at I.U. due to my inability to cope with anything involving math! It was a lot of fun.

Favorite Thanksgiving T.V. Shows

The Bob Newhart: An American Family

hqdefault

The original Bob Newhart Show, season 3, episode 11, “An American Family” when his mother manages to insult everyone and everything. I still love this show.

Friends: Ross’s Sandwich with “the moist maker”

46A1383B00000578-5110581-image-a-5_1511433302395

Ross’s Sandwich with “the moist maker”

WKRP “With God as My Witness I Thought Turkey’s Could Fly”

DTEUFNYE4MLPCASF7S5NVOUWEU

Garfield’s Thanksgiving with wonderful Grandma!

68c50e6e4a82da73e8815d652c22be14

index

The Mouse on the Mayflower–cheesy? What else would a mouse dressed as a Pilgrim be? Politically incorrect? Yes! But no one was woke in my childhood.

Thanksgiving Food Item I Hated as a Kid and Still Hate

istockphoto-868465872-1024x1024
Photo credit: iStock

Marshmallows on canned Sweet Potatoes. I don’t mind the sweet potatoes, it’s the marshmallows.

Thanksgiving Food You Like Best

065332fc-2415-4a09-b703-79f2d182fd4f

Photo Credit: Betty Crocker

I’m a freak! I love the giblet gravy. I don’t really like eating those giblets, but cut up in gravy they are great. Sick, I know. I put it on the potatoes and the turkey and the dressing!

Best Thanksgiving Story of All Time?

81klBZmFe4L._SL1425_

I still know nearly every word. Most years at least a few radio stations broadcast it.

Bonus: Favorite Turkey Leftovers Meal

Photo source: Spidy Southern Kitchen–their recipe is just as great! I love any version of this!

This is MY recipe. No soup.

We NEVER had this as kids. My Mom didn’t make casseroles because my Dad wouldn’t touch them! I love this. I love this with elastic-waist pants love it!

toptentuesday2

Check out the rules at That Artsy Reader Girl and join in next week!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Thanksgiving Freebie–UPDATED

Add yours

  1. Oh, what a fun scrapbook of a post. Some familiar things (MY? SANDWICH?? — always makes me laugh) but a lot of new ones, too.

    Green bean casserole is among my favorite Thanksgiving dishes; I would make it more often if the sodium content weren’t so terrifying. And HARD agree on the idea of adding marshmallows to sweet potatoes — I do not understand why anyone does that. It takes it from a delicious, robust flavor on its own to sickly sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha ha. I’m not a big fan of green bean casserole, but I make it every year because my husband loves it. At least it’s easy-peasy! Funny enough, my husband and I were just discussing sweet potato casserole. I’m contemplating making it with a crumble topping instead of marshmallows, but I think I might miss the marshmallows. I don’t know. It’s a topic of hot debate in our house right now. LOL.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Like

      1. Interesting! We decided to do a combination crumble/marshmallow topping and the dish was absolutely delicious. Everyone loved it, except for my daughter-in-law who doesn’t like marshmallows. (I didn’t want to keep you in suspense over how my sweet potato casserole saga played out. Ha ha)

        Like

  3. What a wonderful list, it actually brought back Thanksgiving memories for me even though they are your memories. I have a funny memory: while in grade school, when we went back to school after the Thanksgiving holiday, the teacher would always ask who had turkey for Thanksgiving. Way back then in the late 1940’s and early 1950’s, turkeys were not tender and not as plentiful. My mom usually baked a big chicken and stuffed it. So I could never raise my hand when the teacher asked who had turkey. It seemed everybody else in my class did. So I pleaded with my mom to make a turkey one year, just so I could raise my hand. The turkey wasn’t that good but we ate it. After we went back to school, every day I waited for the teacher to ask who had turkey just so I could finally raise my hand. She never asked that year! I couldn’t believe it. After that, I told my mom to forget turkey and make her delicious chicken.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a great post, Lisa. I love all your memories. WKRP in Cinncinati is such a great memory. I also watched the Mouse on the Mayflower. We never had green bean casserole growing up, but I have made it for potluck meals as an adult. I hope you had an amazing Thanksgiving.

    Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑