Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring 2024 TBR

ttt-new

I don’t always do very well at actually reading the books I list in these posts! We’ll see if I improve any with this one.

And, thankfully, I started working on this one a few week’s ago! My Mom has been back in the hospital and is now in nursing rehab at a local nursing home. I’ve been pretty distracted. Happily, too, I requested a whole slew of books on audio so that helped me finish this list quickly. I enjoy participating in TTT so having it done in a very fast way was a relief. This has been a set-back to my newly recovered ability to enjoy print/kindle books. Hopefully that will return when things settle down again.

Most Anticipated

1

51w02bI9lAL._SY445_SX342_

The Demon of Unrest “brings to life the pivotal five months between the election of Abraham Lincoln and the start of the Civil War—a simmering crisis that finally tore a deeply divided nation in two.”

Scarily timely (grammar police–is that ok?)

I love Larson’s books–nonfiction that reads like a great novel.

The Demon of Unrest by Erik Larson publishes April 30, 2024 (nonfiction)

2

51rduf9JReL._SY445_SX342_

The House on Biscayne Bay: A Novel by Chanel Cleeton publishes April 2, 2024.

3

41Q6ZCjRekL._SY445_SX342_

Two swoony words: Rupert Brooke

I was a little in love with the World War I poets–even though I could not understand poetry, back in my teen years. Edwardian everything still appeals to me (except the station in life I’d have had to occupy in some middle class backwater)

Muse of Fire by Michael Korda publishes April 16. 2024 (nonfiction)

4

51aWQ9SSAtL._SY445_SX342_

I won a paperback copy of this book in a Dean Street Press caption contest on Twitter/X. Don’t get too excited–there were three entries! LOL

The Lark by E. Nesbit

5

5140d7sLZIL._SY445_SX342_

The Hazelbourne Ladies Motorcycle and Flying Club: A Novel by Helen Simonson

6

51NVfROLK0L._SY445_SX342_

How to Be Old: Lessons in Living Boldly From the Accidental Icon by Lyn Slater (nonfiction)

7

51gKX1v8FjL._SY445_SX342_

Love and Hot Chicken: A Delicious Southern Novel by Mary Liza Hartong

This pairs perfectly with a nonfiction book I have on Hot Chicken–Nonfiction November will be here soon!  FYI–my family LOVES this version of Hot Nashville Chicken, especially with Famous Dave’s hot pickles.

8

51G7ERMrYoL._SY445_SX342_ (1)

Ghost Town Living by Brent Underwood (nonfiction)

9

51HuXTmkXAL._SY445_SX342_

Becoming Madam Secretary: A Novel by Stephanie Dray

This one will be an instant like or dislike since it has Roosevelt content and lots that I could pick apart!

10

51bNTzCH0VL._SY445_SX342_

Ultra-Processed People by Chris Van Tulleken (nonfiction)

Why not join the Top Tuesday fun next week?

Click here for the rules.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted each week by

That Artsy Reader Girl

toptentuesday2

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring 2024 TBR

Add yours

  1. Wow!  Some great titles here. Korda and Larson are always worth reading. Also very interested in the ultra-processed people & ghost town books. My own list is <a href=”https://readingfreely.com/2024/03/19/top-tuesday-ten/”>here</a>.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I almost put the Cleeton on my list today, but changed my mind. Love and Hot Chicken sounds like a hoot. My library has it, so it is now on my wishlist. I hope you enjoy all of these, Lisa.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on your win, that book looks good! Also excited about a new Erik Larson, and Ghost Town Living looks interesting too! Prayers continue for your mom. That’s stressful, for her and you too —

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just checked my library and put How to be Old on order. I’ll be turning 85 the end of this month and need all the help I can get. It should be a book I can relate to!!! I hope your Mother is doing better each day. Tell her she is in my thoughts and prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Peg–you’re so kind. Mom is stuck for a while. 87 and it’s one thing after another. This time she may have to go to assisted living. We are doing everything possible to avoid it, but her strength is the main problem. I will give her your message.

      Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑