Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’d Like Santa to Leave Me

toptentuesday

Just a friendly reminder: I made no money if you click. The links are for your convenience only.

 

sharpswar

 

 

This one I just discussed (again) in a post last week. Defying the Nazis: The Sharp’s War

 

 

 

 

firstwife

I found this one today in an excellent Book Riot post on small press books of the year. Can’t wait to read it. So much about this story appeals to me, not the least of which is the location: Mozambique. I lived “next door” in Malawi. The First Wife: A Tale of Polygamy by Pauline Chizinane.

 

 

 

 

persiaI love cookbooks. I love to cook, love to read about food–especially food from other cultures. Before the internet and Pinterest, I loved to check out exotic cookbooks from the library and try interesting dishes–at least those for which I could find the ingredients. Now I have one of Cincinnati’s treasures, Jungle Jim’s, right on my way home. Each year I try a few new exotic dishes thanks to having this store so close by. I’ve read several memoirs and novels set in the cultures covered by this book as well, so it would be even more meaningful. Taste of Persia by Naomi Duguid.

 

 

51xpj3jwcll

This morning’s look at the New York Times book reviews introduced me to a new crime series that sounds well worth it. Hopefully I can find it on audio for my commute. Series fiction is a Godsend for long commutes. Plaid and Plagiarism by Molly MacRae.

 

 

 

 

 

61truxo0a2l

 

I also hope this one is out in audio. I love the sound of nearly all of it! The Bookseller’s Tale by Ann Swinfen

 

 

 

 

natural

 

I usually read at least one nature or natural history book per year. This fits the bill perfectly. A Buzz in the Meadow: The Natural History of a French Farm by Dave Goulson.

 

 

 

 

51fajhrinhl

 

 

This one has been on my t0-read list since it was published. Time to finally read it I think. The Hare With Amber Eyes by Edmund de  Waal.

 

 

 

51wrhqcfocl-_sx327_bo1204203200_

 

This one will be tricky–it isn’t out until February! Still, notice of pre-order would be a super gift! I was a Russian and East European Studies major. This year there are several new books out for the Russian Revolution’s Centenary. Lots of good history to re-enjoy. Caught in the Revolution by Helen Rappaport.

 

 

41rf8xd7anl-_sx304_bo1204203200_

 

I recently read a book about expatriate life in Iceland, so Greenland is a natural next read.This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland by Gretel Ehlrich

 

 

 

 

 

51nw6to0uql-_sx323_bo1204203200_

Finally, I really would like to find a lovely, hardbound copy of Tolkein’s Letters From Father Christmas, which I reviewed late last week in this post.

 

Stop by The Broke and the Bookish and check out all of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday posts! Our, better yet, join in and post your own list!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’d Like Santa to Leave Me

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑