Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Book Settings

TTT-NEW

I really like this topic! But, to be truthful, my favorite book settings are the ones in my own yet-to-be-published books! So, Southern Indiana in the 20s and 30s, a very woke college campus of today, and an extremely grand country house with an unconventional lord of the manner, his family, and their cat. Yes, cat. Unconventional. In fact, all three books have a strong cat character. And, all have an older man–younger woman romance–though “older” is in keeping with the standards of the books time setting. So, the modern book has a many only about 10 years older.

ONE

The Corridors of Power

TWO

A Royal Palace

THREE

A library or bookshop

FOUR

Someplace Foodie

FIVE

A School or University

SIX

A War Zone or Military Base

SEVEN

An Ordinary Home

EIGHT

Nature

NINE

Traveling

TEN

A Non-Western, Non-Northern-Hemisphere, Non-Wealthy Nation

Why not join the fun next week? You can read the rules here.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Book Settings

Add yours

  1. Corridors of power is an interesting category. I’m trying to think of some books I’ve read that would fit. There’s Becoming, Michelle Obama’s memoirs (haven’t yet tackled her husband’s version) but then I’m stuck

    Like

  2. Great list. I’ve gotten tired of books set during WWII. I also don’t care for settings on Military Bases since I worked at one for over 20 years. I guess I just had enough of that!! It’s hard for me to relate to novels set in palaces since I’ve never even been in one, much less lived in one!! But several of your other settings do appeal to me: An ordinary home, Traveling, Someplace Foodie, and A library or bookshop. It would take me a while but I could probably come up with some novels I’ve read in these four settings.

    Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑