Classics Club Spin #29

ClassicsClubSpin

Thanks to Margaret at Books Please whose post reminded me it was Spin time again!

What is a Spin?

It’s easy. At your blog, before next Sunday 20th March, 2022, create a post that lists twenty books of your choice that remain “to be read” on your Classics Club list.  This is your Spin List. You have to read one of these twenty books by the end of the spin period….On Sunday 20th, March, we’ll post a number from 1 through 20. The challenge is to read whatever book falls under that number on your Spin List by the 30th April, 2022. That’s a six week reading window for this spin. You may like to stack your list with books that you know are do-able for you within that time frame. See the full description at The Classics Club.

My Result for the  Last Spin, #28

The last Spin saw me totally fail! I got The Face of War by Martha Gellhorn and didn’t get even one page of it read. Woe is me. Mea culpa! So, I decided not to put that one back on my list. I own it so I can read it another time. I also thought I’d see what new (new to the platform that is) classics Serial Reader might have. I sang the praises loud and long for this app when it came out, but tend to forget it now. Recently I downloaded it again and started looking at the titles. That way I could just figure out how many “daily” episodes to read each day during the spin. Nifty, right? We’ll see. I also remembered to look at 1001 Books to Read Before You Die–at least the original version. I like “competitive” reading with lists like that. Finally, I checked my Kindle to see what was languishing there.

My Spin Lists

As always, I started with my list for the last Spin and pruned and added to it. I took out those I’d read or lost interest in and added some new ones.

The OLD List from Spin 28

  1. Miss Ranskill Comes Home by Barbara Euphan Todd
  2. Finishing School by Muriel Spark  Review HERE
  3. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne
  4. A Far Country by Neville Shute
  5. Mornings in Mexico by DH Lawrence
  6. Portrait of a Marriage by Vita Sackville West
  7. Burmese Days by George Orwell
  8. Son at the Front by Edith Wharton
  9. Loving Spirit by Daphne DuMaurier
  10. Mariana by Monica Dickens
  11. My Brilliant Career by Miles Franklin Review HERE.
  12. The Face of War by Martha Gelhorn
  13. The Headmistress by Angela Thirkell
  14.  We Fed Them Cactus by Fabiola Cabeza de Baca
  15. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  16. Less Than Angels by Barbara Pym
  17. Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne Du Maurier
  18. Sea of Grass by Conrad Richter
  19. Lost Horizon by James Hilton
  20. The Way Things Are by E.M. Delafield

My NEW Spin #29 List

  1. Mariana by Monica Dickens
  2. Sea of Grass by Conrad Richter
  3. Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne Du Maurier
  4. Mornings in Mexico by DH Lawrence
  5. Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway (Serial Reader)
  6. Lost Horizon by James Hilton
  7. A Far Country by Neville Shute
  8. O! Pioneers by Willa Cather (Serial Reader)
  9. Whose Body? by Dorothy Sayers
  10. Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome (Serial Reader)
  11. Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie (Serial Reader)
  12. Portrait of a Marriage by Vita Sackville West
  13. Burmese Days by George Orwell
  14. Miss Ranskill Comes Home by Barbara Euphan Todd
  15. Blithedale Romance by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  16. Light Years by Elizabeth Jane Howard
  17. Bitter Lemons of Cyprus by Lawrence Durrell
  18. The Good Soldier by Ford Maddox Ford
  19. The Brazilian Adventure by Peter Fleming
  20. Business As Usual by Jane Oliver

11 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #29

Add yours

  1. There are some great books here. Many of these I would like put on a new Classics Club list if I ever finish my first one. And whatever book is chosen, I look forward to your review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And there’s nothing against the rules to changing up your list. Sometimes I need super-short books, other times I can add longer ones. I go in/out of the mood for certain authors or types. I don’t want this to ever be drudgery/homework type reading.

      Like

  2. Every time I see you mention the classics spin, I’m tempted to join in! I love Serial Reader, but haven’t used it in about a year or so (I think for a Dickens novel), so that sounds like a really good approach. Hmmm, maybe I’ll think about it over the weekend! I see some on your list I’d be tempted to include, like Frenchman’s Creek and O PIoneers, two that have been on my TBR list for a long, long time. Good luck with your spin!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Some of my favorite authors are on your list! I LOVE Three Men in a Boat (if you can get the audio I highly recommend it); also Nevil Shute, Mariana Dickens, and Willa Cather. The Good Soldier is wonderful and just heartbreaking. Now I need to explore Serial Reader which I hadn’t heard of but is exactly my sort of thing. Good luck with your spin pick!

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑