#NovNov22 Review: A Christmas Escape by Anne Perry

51lo14NKEVL._SY346_

My Interest

I’ve read the first 16 of Anne Perry’s William Monk books and one of her World War I series. I love Monk and Hester and their friends. Perry’s Christmas books usually center on a lesser character from one of her series. I like that.

The Story

Charles Latterly, brother of Hester, is recently widowed. He goes off to Italy to the island of Stromboli for a Christmas-time holiday. A volcano on the island is part of the interest. He meets up with friends and a friend’s young “ward”–a feisty young woman with a real “spark” in her eye. Along the way, naturally, there is a murder. Plus, how about a fictional character that’s a little too lifelike? How does it all come together? What happens to the friends? No spoilers on this blog!

My Thoughts

Anne Perry can get too sexually gruesome for me, but that was not the case this time (ok that is sort of a spoiler). I loved the setting of the story. I didn’t really love the “me-talka-not-so-good-a-Englisha” accent given to the Italian guy. Oh well, that’s me. Another good Christmas time story from Perry. I took off for the silly accent.

Now I want to make and eat stromboli!! My recipe is below!

My Verdict

3.5

Stromboli

1 batch of pizza dough (can use frozen)

6 slices of ham of your choice from the deli

6 or more slices of salami (depends on the size)

6 or sandwich size slices of pepperoni–or more of pizza sized

Mezztta Chicago Style Sandwich Giardinera Mix (hot or mild–I use what I can find)

Parmesan cheese (in the can is fine)

6-8 Slices Provolone (or Mozzarella) cheese

Pat or roll out the pizza dough into a rectangle. Sprinkle with a little Parmesan and some Italian Seasoning (or oregano or basil or whatever). Sprinkle the Parm heavy where the meat will go (helps with grease). Spread the meat across the dough. Top with the next type etc. Sprinkle a little more Parm on top of the meat. Now top with the Giardinera Relish (use a slotted spoon and drain it pretty well). Top with the sliced cheese. Fold and seal the dough around everything making a sort of loaf. If desired, brush with a little olive oil or Italian dressing and some coarse salt, if desired. Move to cornmeal scattered pizza pan or baking sheet. Bake till done in a hot over–425, about 15 to 25 minutes. If your family likes sauce, serve it with pizza or pasta sauce. We eat this plain. The Stromboli at Nick’s Bar at Indiana University is covered in sauce. I prefer this!

 

2 thoughts on “#NovNov22 Review: A Christmas Escape by Anne Perry

Add yours

  1. Your review, as usual, was so interesting. I have not read anything by Anne Perry. Your recipe sounds delicious! Made me hungry just reading about it.

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑