Top Ten Tuesday: The 10 Books I Want to Buy Most Right Now

ttt-new

I’ve got a “buying freeze” on at the moment. In addition to “retiring” (no job, over 60), my landlord gave me notice that after 15 years she’s selling. I bought a year’s extension by offering market-value rent. She really WAS being ridiculously under-payed. I’m grateful, but it means I’m now scrambling trying to find yet another job. Just when I thought I could try writing full-time I’m interviewing to do customer service at home for some national company. And waiting to hear on a librarian job that I’m afraid to hope for. So! No buying! #justcallmeEeyore

Netgalley is a great source if you are broke–if you have an account somewhere to post a review you can get brand new books free for a fair review. Check them out if you are in the same “buying freeze.” My other source is the library. Be sure to check if your library is in a network of libraries or can do free/very cheap interlibrary loans. It expands your borrowing power. I live very rural, yet my library can get me much of what I read very easily. Ohio libraries are great!

 

My 10 Ten Want to Buy Books

These are not in any ranked order.

1

9780349134826-us

Those of you who read here often know that I collect books on the Royals, the Roosevelts, the Churchills, and aristocratic families in general. If you recall the Diana years of the British Royal family, you will recall the phrase “Acid Raine.” Yes, with an “e” for Raine Spencer. Princess Diana’s “evil” step-mother. Had she lived Diana would likely have ended up with step-children in some marriage or other, so it’s good she gave it up and came to like her before she died. Did you know Raine might possibly be the biological daughter not of her mother’s then husband, but of Prince Charles’ late great-uncle, Prince George, Duke of Kent. The man got around. Three Times a Countess: The Extraordinary Life and Times of Raine Countess of Spencer by Tina Goudin.

2

51Hj5BXep6L

Ever since I read Narrowboat Summer (Three Women and A Boat) by Anne Youngson, I’ve been interested in the British canal boats. Recently I’ve been watching Great Canal Journeys on Amazon Prime. Husband and wife, Timothy West(aka King Edward VII) and Prunella Scales (Mrs Fawlty Towers), are the oldies traveling by narrowboat all over the UK and a few other countries. I learned of this book from the show. The show is so wonderful–slow, meandry, but wonderful.  Lots of wine. Americans may not know them outside those roles, but their son, Samuel West. is currently playing Sigfried Farnon in the new version of All Creatures Great and Small.

3

511BU591yLL._SY346_

Another TV show I’ve watched online that sparked my interest was The Durrells of Cofu and the book that inspired it caught my interest, too. My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell has set me on a Durrell kick.  Whatever Happened to Margot, is the daughter’s story–after the My Family book.  I recently reviewed another book related to the family–Looking for the Durrells by Melanie Hewitt.

4

41llPbb8T6L._SY346_

I’m prone to going down rabbit trails–it’s what librarians do! When I read Dervla Murphy’s earlier book, Full Tilt: Ireland to India With A Bicycle and got looking at what else she’d written. It turns out she was through Malawi at the same time I lived there and this book is the result. I haven’t even checked to see if my library can get it for me yet–I think I’d like to have it. The Ukimwi Road: Kenya to Zimbabwe by Dervla Murphy

5

51qLu+5xAaL._SX260_

No explanation needed. I’m a librarian who once typed card catalog cards! Ha! I’m that old! The graduate library at my university had a card catalog that took up more than 1/4 of a library floor! I loved it, but also love the great searchability of today’s version of the card catalog. Much easier to find accurate research results, but you do miss out on a lot of fun rabbit trails. The Card Catalog

For More Books I Want to Own see these posts:

  1. Coffee Table Books I Want to Own
  2. Some Cookbooks I Want to Own 

That’s it for this week!

toptentuesday2

Check out the rules at That Artsy Reader Girl and join in next week!

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The 10 Books I Want to Buy Most Right Now

Add yours

      1. Ha ha, true. It was Edelweiss’s wide range of nonfiction that trapped me; they also have a great catalogue of translated work. But my only rule there is, I am not looking at the to request catalogue.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I quit requesting anything that wasn’t audio. I just wasn’t getting them done. My attention span seems to just be GONE for print reading. It will return–it has before, but I don’t see myself tackling 1024 page Gone With the Wind length books again–which makes me sad. I used to devour big books. Also more academic-ish nonfiction. Not today. Maybe again some day.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh yes, the 1000 page ones are beyond me too these days. In fact I’ve been deliberately sticking t ones around 300 and definitely below 500 in the worst cases. I don’t still mind academic nonfic but no chunksters there either.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Sorry to hear about your troubles! You make an excellent point about free books. They’re actually fairly easy to get. I live in a large suburb, where I have access to both a city library system and a county one. Between the two, I can get just about any book I want. True, I often have to wait in line, but that’s okay. Free is worth it!

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your job/apartment challenges — I hope you get to enjoy “retirement” soon! These books all look SO interesting — and your list reminds me that I’ve been meaning to watch The Durells of Corfu, and maybe it’s time I finally get to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck in finding employment soon, I hope it’s the library job. Please keep us updated. I hope you are able to get all the books you ever want, cheap or free!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am keeping my fingers crossed that the library job comes through for you, Lisa. I have heard great things about The Durrells of Cofu, and need to give it a watch. I love how you found the books from watching the series, not the other way around. I have to say, I love NG and EW. Being retired, it makes sense not to buy a lot of books anymore. I do buy a lot of audiobooks though, they don’t take up any room.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I do. I have eight credits because I bought a year’s subscription and got them all at once. I have been very selective and trying to use one per month, but just got it 2 months ago and have used 4 already. 😊 I wait to see if my library gets them before I jump in and buy them.

        Like

  5. These books all look interesting, and I hope you are able to get your own copies soon! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier this week.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The book on Raine sounds interesting; I’d like to know more about her. I’m glad you have a reprieve on your house! Any news on the librarian job? I bet you would be perfect for it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They won’t know until the end of the month. Sadly, I’m not holding my breath, but yes, I’d like to have it. Trying to find a place to live means I have to find SOME sort of job. Even if it’s ringing up groceries at Kroger. In April I can start partial Social Security if necessary, but that’s cutting it way too close to find something by May 24th. Sadly, a really great little house is on the Market, but I can’t get a mortgage without “some” job….grrrrr My 401(k) isn’t big enough for the mortgage companies. Mind you, I could cash it and buy the house! lol (I’d never do that!!!)

      Like

  7. I’m envious of your Ohio library system. Ours has been seeing budget cuts for years so their new acquisitions are too often of the popular authors. I wanted a copy of Kindred by Octavia Butler last week but was astounded to find they don’t have it. The staff are so helpful and did manage to find a copy in a neighbouring county but this is a modern classic so it’s worrying they don’t have one themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know that much about UK libraries, but here in USA public libraries each [should] have a mission statement. The [way, way, way left American Library Association–the public library lobbyists] have identified various missions that they can draw from. The most common is “pre-schooler’s door to learning”–supporting emergent literacy. This has eased somewhat due to Dolly Parton’s fabulous gift to many children (my grandson included) of a library of excellent toddler & preschooler books. “Youth” is hot right now–YA books, poetry slams, open mike events etc. Best-sellers are the main adult focus of most small libraries. Major public libraries like NYC or similar have it “all”. In Ohio, we are fortunate that the Legislature still supports the regional library system. While my tiny rural public library system may not buy much that I read, Cincinnati Public or Cleveland Public does and I can borrow effortlessly if I’m willing to put up with the wait for it to be brought out to my library. E-books make this easier to a degree but libraries pay a fortune here for e-books. It could be called “extortion”. Mind you, across the state line in Indiana (the state I’ve lived in most–and Vice President Mike Pence (Trump)’s home state there is none of this) In Indiana if you can’t get access to Indianapolis, Carmel or Bloomington/Monroe Country, you are screwed.

      Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑