Reading Wales –Dewithon–March 1st to 31st 2024

logo

#Dewithon24  #ReadingWales24

Thank you to Paula at The Book Jotter for again hosting this fun and informative reading event. I have enjoyed this even for the last several years and have read some incredible books. (My Dewithon book reviews will all be linked later in the post).

world-map-with-magnifying-on-wales-blue-earth-globe-with-wales-flag-pin-zoom-on-wales-map-vector-illustration-2BWYFBD

Click for map credit

My Plans

For this year I’ve purchased Creed by Margiad Evans, with The Citadel by A.J. Cronin as another possibility–it is on audio which helps. Sadly, it is not available on Kindle. It’s hard to imagine politicians today capable of reading, being moved by it and acting in a positive way, but The Citadel is credited with inspiring the UK’s National Health Service. Imagine Congress doing anything that decisive today?! Probably the same in the Palace of Westminster. Amazingly, I have not seen nor heard of The Citadel as a Masterpiece Theatre show! I’ll look for it after I read the book–it’s probably on YouTube.

Past Years’ Book Reviews

Will you be participating in Dewithon 24? Leave me a comment or a link to your post–I’d love to see what you are reading.

11 thoughts on “Reading Wales –Dewithon–March 1st to 31st 2024

Add yours

  1. I will be Reading Ireland in March, but I might try to sneak in a book set in Wales. I will have to search my TBR to see what I’ve got. I think I have a police procedural series set there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read The Citadel last year – it’s very readable though could have been shortened. I was actually born in the town where some of the action takes place – the town said to have been the inspiration for the birth of the national health service though I’ve never found any evidence for that claim!

    I’ve read one of Margiad Evans’s novels and have two further books by her, one is a memoir about her diagnosis of a brain tumour and how she coped with the horrendous headaches.

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑