Review: A Night at the Tropicana: A Short Story by Chanel Cleeton

81bXFrMFZbL._SY466_

My Interest

Two words: Chanel Cleeton! Add to that a recommendation from Carla at Carla Loves to Read (won’t you go read her post, too? Leave her a nice comment! We bloggers live on nice comments).  Add in a book hangover from California Golden (review coming) that meant I couldn’t–I just couldn’t start Chanel Cleeton’s newest book, then this short story or novella was perfect. (For what it’s worth, I choose to call this a “novella” since it is divided into chapters). Audible has a lot of these I’ve discovered.

The Story

cuba

When Natalie Trainer’s father chooses to end their vacation in Cuba with opening night at the later-to-be-fabled-nightclub The Tropicana, Natalie’s studious world of pre-med studies is upended! When handsome Antonio askes her to dance, Natalie’s maternal Cuban genes sing in happiness! Not only is he dreamy handsome, charming and Cuban, but he’s a resident–a doctor in training! Is she dreaming!

That was then–pre Batista, pre Fidel. Today Natalie is helping with a fundraising night at the hospital replicating a night at the fabled nightclub The Tropicana and thinking of that magical night years ago.

Do dreams come true?

My Thoughts

So sweet, but so short! Oh Chanel Cleeton–how could you!! Give us a novel of this story!! I was heartsick. And then swoony. Oh come on–a NOVEL!!! Tell us the full story of Natalie and Antonio!!!!!

My Verdict

3.5

I want the full story!! I took off because of that!!

I listened to the audio version of this story.

5 thoughts on “Review: A Night at the Tropicana: A Short Story by Chanel Cleeton

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑