Top Five Wednesday: Books t0 Get You Out of a Slump

top5wed

 

1. The One About College Professors

 

What happens when a 60’s Berkley prof trades places with his counterpart in a provincal British University? They swap houses, jobs and….wives? Funny book.  Philip Swallow and Morris Zap are unforgettable and forever linked with my time at Indiana University. The book was recommended by a professor I liked and it did not, and still upon re-reading, does not disappoint. It seems the individual volumes of David Lodge’s Campus Trilogy are out-of-print so I’m linking to the one volume of this trilogy. I had no idea until today that there was a trilogy–so happy me! Changing Places–Book One of the Campus Trilogy by David Lodge.

2. The One With Too Much Family

 

joy

 

This is a great send-up of Old New York Knickerbocker families set in the early 1960’s. When the family gathers for Christmas a disasterous chain of events is put into motion causing a happy marriage to split. What makes it so amusing is the telling is done in first person by 11 year old son Kerry. Yes, there are a few less than p.c. elements that are typical of its era. But Patrick Dennis at his best is not to be missed. One of my favorite books ever and an annual re-read. The Joyous Season by Patrick Dennis.

 

 

3. The One With That President’s Wife

american-wife

 

Ok, it’s not really HER–this is fiction. But, this is a get-sunk-into novel. The kind you keep refilling the tub and the gin glass.  I savored every word of this! The family compound for vacations, the baseball–all of it. Loved it. American Wife by Curtis Sitenfeld (Curtis is a woman, fyi, like most I thought a man had written it. Sorry, Curtis).

 

 

 

4. The One With the Secret

 

519rqakxogl

 

I have fallen in love with Liane Moriarty’s books! I know I’ll get thru them all. This one has it all–a secret the wife shouldn’t have found out, consequences for all of this action and more. A suburban life, as suffocating and perfect as it can be, is ripped open to the light of day. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarity The only thing I didn’t like was the cover!

 

 

 

5. The YA One With a Holmes-ian twist

 

 

This is a shameless plug for book two of what seems to be a great new series featuring descendants of Sherlock Holmes and his trusted friend, Dr. Watson. Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson meet in boarding school and go on to solve murders with the panache of their ancient relatives. To read more about book one of this trilogy–and a nice selection of quotes check out this post from last year.

 

Top 5 Wednesday comes from the Group of that name on Goodreads.com Join it and play along! You can do a traditional blog post or a video post.

 

7 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Books t0 Get You Out of a Slump

Add yours

  1. I just finished reading A Study in Charlotte last night; I completely agree! It’s a fun romp while pulling all our favorite Sherlock references in. Adorable. I haven’t read any of the others, but American Wife is being added to my TBR. Thanks for the recommendations.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha– that’s reasonable. It’s hard to get recommendations correct 100% of the time. Plus, online recommendations are even more challenging since (well, in my case) we don’t know the other person’s tastes as well as if we knew them in person.

        Like

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑