Top Ten Tuesday: Books Guaranteed to Put a Smile On Your Face

TTT-NEW

I admit I like a real “feel good” kind of novel pretty often these days. No shame in that–the country is near Civil War, people are dying everywhere from COVID, travel is limited–we need feel good things right now. Putting a smile on your face is part of helping yourself feel better in sad times. Reading a book to help put it there is even better.

 

If Judy Leigh can’t put a smile on your face…well, I won’t go there. All of her books are just plain fun. These are stand-alones, not a series (yet–I keep hoping). Heading Over the Hill, Chasing the Sun, The Old Girls Network.

 

Graeme Simsion’s Rosie Project series will make anyone smile. Oh, Don Tillman!

 

The Provincial Lady! Oh, I love her! And dear old Robert asleep behind the Times. Some of the Kindle versions are terrible, so read the reviews before buying. And dear Mrs. Tim going where the Regiment sends her husband! So brave! The battle for servants and an end to tinned soup at dinner parties. Absolutely delightful and guaranteed to make you smile. Miss Pettigrew Lives for the Day is a great addition to this era’s smiley books!

 

Dear Calvin Becker! The fictional persona of Frank (formerly Frankie) Schaeffer, so of Fran and Edith so well-known in the Evangelical world. While I do not think Zermatt is as good as the other two books, Portofinio and Saving Grandma are so fun. Seeing adults and adult life through the eyes of the nearly-forgottten, late born son of famous parents is just fun, plus who can ever forget The Gospel Walnut? The Calvin Becker trilogy.

Stand Alone Novels or essays that will make you smile

Professional poker-play and housewife Helen Ellis is a treat! Southern Lady Code and Bring Your Baggage and Don’t Pack Light will make you laugh and smile. Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare or The Switch are perfect for cheering you up. And Dear Major Pettirgrew and Mrs. Ali–I smile just thinking of them.

 

Why not join the fun next week? You can read the rules here.

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Guaranteed to Put a Smile On Your Face

Add yours

  1. These are fun! I’m especially drawn to the Judy Leigh books. I loved The Rosie Project and knowing there are a couple more after that is nice. I also liked The Flatshare a lot and have been meaning to read The Switch, Thanks for sharing these – I agree, we need some books to make us smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed the Rosie Project series too and the Beth O’Leary ones. The Road Trip is currently waiting at the library for me and i hope it’s as good as the others. This is a great top ten.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can see the appeal of the books from Judy Leigh and Helen Ellis. I hadn’t even heard of most of these authors, so I’m going to have to look them up — and add them to my feel-good inventory. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, I find that often I want to read books of a certain “emotional genre.” Thanks for a great listing of “happy” books, especially since I think these are all new to me. I didn’t know Frank Schaeffer was a fiction author, or if I did I’ve forgotten. Hmmm, interesting, ’cause I’m thinking he was quite a character himself.

    Like

  5. I loved this list! I have not read anything by Judy Leigh but I need to since I sometimes need to read a book just for fun. I loved The Rosie Project and Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand.

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑