Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Quick Reads/Books to Read When Time is Short

ttt-new

Apparently today we all have much shorter attention spans. I’ve lost count of the people I know who struggle to focus. Most think our phones are to blame. Who knows! Anyway, here are ten short novels I’ve enjoyed.

Just about every Japanese book I’ve read has been a good, short/fast read, so I’m focusing on non-Japanese books for this list.

1

41Jdb4MMwoL._SY445_SX342_

The Room: A Novel by Jonas Karlsson was a good, quirky, fun read. 

2

41et3rSyymL

Good, short, fast, nonfiction read on the great scam of Multi-Level Marketing.

Hey, Hun by Emily Lynn Paulson

3

4a989eff834b810eba993ceb88668b72

Bridgerton fans and others will enjoy this “history lite” bio of Queen Charlotte.

The Real Queen Charlotte by Catherine Curzon

4

9780571379149

To me the popular fiction of Claire Keegan are mostly short stories. But they are compelling!

Foster by Clair Keegan

5

Humorous essays make good, fast reads, too. I happen to love Helen Ellis.

6

provincial

Epistolary novels–stories told through diaries, letters, social media post, are often quick, fun, reads, too. This one is a favorite of mine as is it’s near twin, Mrs. Tim of the Regiment by D.E. Stevenson.

Diary of a Provincial Lady by E.M. Delafield

7

513362o521L._SY425_

Some series, like the Stephanie Plum books, have “between the numbers” books which are usually a fast read. I love the Diesel books–like this one. 

Plum Lovin’ by Janet Evanovich

8

51lo14NKEVL._SY445_SX342_

Some series have shorter Christmas books. Sometimes the series main characters are “lesser” or minor characters in the Christmas books. This one is from the William Monk series.

A Christmas Escape by Anne Perry

9

24796294

This French novel is fast–set on a train as ex-lovers dance around each other on their commute.

The 6:41 to Paris by Jean-Philippe Blondel

10

71vdGRrRbKL._SY425_

Celebrity books often read fast. This one, by the great Olivia de Havilland discusses her married life in France.

Every Frenchman Has One by Olivia de Havilland

Why not join the Top Tuesday fun next week?

Click here for the rules.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted each week by

That Artsy Reader Girl

toptentuesday2

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Quick Reads/Books to Read When Time is Short

Add yours

  1. I need to bookmark this post since I love shorter books! Honestly over 300 pages makes me a bit twitchy. I marked the Queen Charlotte one to read after you originally reviewed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not familiar with any of these but some of those covers really stand out – and I am a fan of picking books up purely based on their covers.

    Liked by 1 person

I enjoy reading your comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑